Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Polaczek
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:03 am

Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by Polaczek » Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:56 am

Hey,

I recenlty assembled the Shapeoko 2 and I must say I am very much impressed with how the assembly went and what a nice piece of machinary it is.

I plan on doing some modifications to it but for now I want to let you know that I have mounted the DW660 succesfully onto the Z axis.

To accomplish this, you have to disassemble the top part of the DW660 (where the button and reset is ) in order to get more Z axis travel distance. You'll also need to buy 75mm M5 screws, or like I did, M5 threaded rod and cut it to size. Buy some nuts or wingnuts with washers to tighten it all down. It works great with the standard mounts.

You can buy the threaded rod from a local nut and bolt / fastener shop.

Let me know if you want some pictures.

WillAdams
Posts: 8514
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by WillAdams » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:01 am

Pictures would be great!

We need to compile a list of routers the 75mm bolts will work on --- I was also successful w/ a 1/4" Harbor Freight Trim Router.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

jvabob
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by jvabob » Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:30 pm

I just added the dw660 and dust shoe to my Shapeoko 2 as well... used the mount from shapeoko.com.
I seem to be seeing the z axis sag forward a bit from the added weight.

when it comes down to apply the bit to the material the spindle tips up quite a bit as the weight of the spindle transfers from the z axis to the material via the bit...

Doesn't seem to be optimal... I checked my offset nuts for tightness of the V rollers and they seem to be in the tightest position.

Are you seeing anything like this?

Does anyone have any advice on how I should resolve this ?

Thanks,

Bob

tra
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:27 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by tra » Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:34 pm

jvabob wrote:I just added the dw660 and dust shoe to my Shapeoko 2 as well... used the mount from shapeoko.com.
I seem to be seeing the z axis sag forward a bit from the added weight.

when it comes down to apply the bit to the material the spindle tips up quite a bit as the weight of the spindle transfers from the z axis to the material via the bit...

Doesn't seem to be optimal... I checked my offset nuts for tightness of the V rollers and they seem to be in the tightest position.

Are you seeing anything like this?

Does anyone have any advice on how I should resolve this ?

Thanks,

Bob
I'm only replying so I can see any updates you get. I have a DW660 and am waiting on my machine to be delivered.

LTMNO
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:56 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by LTMNO » Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:22 am

Hello, I would be curious to see a picture as well... I am about to Mill out my Dust Shoe and mount it as well and would like to see the Sagging that you mention.
I am running the ShapeOko 1 Modified... but its pretty much like the ShapeOko 2.
Have you made any other modifications?
ShapeOko #1508, TinyG Controller, Dual Y, ACME Z-Axis, MeanWell(S-350-24v), NEMA 23's, 1m Squared t-slot table, OpenRail and the Original Z Makerslide and all Motor Plates...

Polaczek
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by Polaczek » Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:49 am

Sorry for the delay!

I have been playing around with the machine and today I nearly destroyed my finger. I decided to inspect a piece while it was being milled!


M5 screw work well, but I will be the making the mounts out of HDPE (http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/DW660).

I levelled my spoil board.

I installed 1/4-20 Quick-Connect Flanged Insert Nuts from LeeValley.com

I plan to add an e-stop, cable guide, and homing switching (homing is time consuming!)

Here are some pictures:
IMG_0238_2.JPG
IMG_0238_2.JPG (147.73 KiB) Viewed 1912 times
IMG_0236_2.JPG
IMG_0236_2.JPG (167.66 KiB) Viewed 1912 times
IMG_0235_2.JPG
IMG_0235_2.JPG (158.62 KiB) Viewed 1912 times

LTMNO
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:56 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by LTMNO » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:12 am

Hello, sorry to hear about your finger/hand...
I have to ask, what are you doing with the power switch for the 660?
Did you wire a relay to turn on and off automatically?
ShapeOko #1508, TinyG Controller, Dual Y, ACME Z-Axis, MeanWell(S-350-24v), NEMA 23's, 1m Squared t-slot table, OpenRail and the Original Z Makerslide and all Motor Plates...

Polaczek
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by Polaczek » Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:37 am

The power switch is the little back box with a small nob in picture 1, so at the moment, it just dangles there. I do plan to put in a toggle switch in my power supply box or panel mount relay.

LTMNO
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:56 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by LTMNO » Mon Jan 20, 2014 1:30 pm

Thanks for clarifying... I would be very interested to see how that pans out...
When I took the Router Apart the first thing that ran into my mind is why don't we put a PID controller attached to this and use a relay to power it on and off...
I think we need to get there as this is one of the best routers around... for the use of ShapeOko. (one of... ;-) )
ShapeOko #1508, TinyG Controller, Dual Y, ACME Z-Axis, MeanWell(S-350-24v), NEMA 23's, 1m Squared t-slot table, OpenRail and the Original Z Makerslide and all Motor Plates...

Polaczek
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:03 am

Re: Shapeoko 2 and DW660

Post by Polaczek » Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:06 pm

I am really loving the DW660, blasts through everything.

My other "mod" that I have is that I bought the separate drivers (Wantai), power supply and NEMA 24 motors (I didn't use the arduino and shield). With that kit came a "break out board" which has opto-isolators that split the parallel port into different connectors. I use LinuxCNC and I believe you can route a pin to be your spindle on/off. Just hook up a lower power 5VDC relay and away you go, no need for PID controller!

Post Reply