Missing steps while cutting

rowblue

Missing steps while cutting

Post by rowblue » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:24 pm

First, I think a subforum for troubleshooting actual operations might be useful. Now on to the problem.

Last night I started playing with cutting acrylic/Plexiglas. It seems that my steppers are occassionally missing steps. It happens to the Z most often but my Y also misses steps at random. I think it could be happening due to thermal shutdown on the Z, while the Y may just be slipping inside the gear. Also sometimes one looks like it leads to the other. As in the Y misses a step, causes the Z to try to cut into previously uncut material and possibly miss a step that way. Anyone else struggle with this while getting the machine zeroed in?

potatotron

Re: Missing steps while cutting

Post by potatotron » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:47 pm

Yes! I'm not the only one!

I have this problem and so far haven't been able to isolate it, I'd say it happens once every 200-400 or so moves[*]. I have it on the X and Y axis but don't think I've seen Z misstep, but like you say it seems like if one axis missteps then the other one will too.

I've re-verified the voltage settings on the stepper drivers, added .1uf and 47uf filter capacitors to each stepper driver's motor power supply input and .1uf to each steppers logic power supply input, and added small delays ("G4 P.1") between movements. I've also tried decreasing the seek & feed rates and that seems to have helped some, but has not eliminated the problem. The only other things I can think to try are another version of GRBL (I'm currently using 0.7D, I will try 0.8E) and replacing the power supply.

It's slowly driving me (more) insane so any insight will be appreciated.

[*] My ShapeOko is a pick and place machine. Each pick/place cycle is 10 steps and I can get it to place between 20 & 40 pieces before this happens, but it seems like it will always happen at some point.

vios

Post by vios » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:22 pm