VAC CONTROl

discussion of design changes / improvements / suggestions
HPGreyling
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:37 am
Location: South Africa

VAC CONTROl

Post by HPGreyling » Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:02 am

I was thinking of using the coolant on/off commands in grbl to start/ stop my vac .

I cannot find anything relevant on the wiki or forum.

I was thinking of using a similar relay as the one that is used with the spindle control. I just dont know which pins on either the arduino or gshield to use and if such a relay will be able to handle 220v.

Please advise

Many thanks
HP

RobCee
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by RobCee » Sun Dec 14, 2014 10:38 am

This should work, I was going to implement something similar. (One day...)
ShapeOko2 #3400 - Chinese 800W AC Spindle - Stiffened X-Axis - TR10 Z-Axis - Inverted Z Motor - Hall Effect Limits - Drag Chains & Custom Brackets

tjshape
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:59 am
Location: Madison, WI

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by tjshape » Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:09 pm

I'm curious what the advantage of doing that over using something like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005ELWUWG/re ... Jub1AWV8HW would be? If there are definite advantages, I might have to add this to my future upgrades list.
Shapeoko 2, ACME upgrade, Belt Drive Z-Axis upgrade, Dewalt DW660

DanMc
Posts: 257
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:34 am

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by DanMc » Sun Dec 14, 2014 2:40 pm

Just be sure that the relay can handle the amperage of the vacuum.

RobCee
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by RobCee » Sun Dec 14, 2014 3:27 pm

@tjshape, using your device would require the spindle power to run through it directly, but my setup is always powered on, so it wouldn't provide the discrete control I need.
That said, it may work well for many solutions.

@DanMc, good point - in my case I will be using my relay to power a lamp that is plugged into my shop vac's auto-socket, rather than trying to switch the whole load through a small relay.
ShapeOko2 #3400 - Chinese 800W AC Spindle - Stiffened X-Axis - TR10 Z-Axis - Inverted Z Motor - Hall Effect Limits - Drag Chains & Custom Brackets

Caesar S
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:19 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by Caesar S » Sun Dec 14, 2014 3:38 pm

Try this page on grbl pin connections https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Connecting-Grbl

Hope this helps, Caesar.

HPGreyling
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:37 am
Location: South Africa

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by HPGreyling » Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:55 pm

@Caesar: I am more confused than ever but someth7ng does not make sense in the github you sent me.

The picture shows the coolant pins are analog pins BUT the article talsk about ghe digital d9-11 pins for coolant control. Am I reading it wrong?

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by cvoinescu » Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:31 am

All Arduino pins can be used as digital inputs and digital outputs. Some can also be used as analog inputs. The software (GRBL, in our case) controls which of the three modes each pin is in. It configures the coolant control pin as digital a output.

I don't see where it says D9-D11 would be spindle and coolant control. Those pins are the limit/homing switch inputs.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

HPGreyling
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:37 am
Location: South Africa

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by HPGreyling » Mon Dec 15, 2014 3:51 am

My bad. D12 and d13.

Would the relay that came with the spindle be able to handle a 1000W vac?

HPGreyling
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:37 am
Location: South Africa

Re: VAC CONTROl

Post by HPGreyling » Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:50 pm

Just a little help pleade.

I know I have to use the A3 pin with ground and another pin , which one on the arduino, to control my vac from the coolant control.

Secondly how do you wire them to the relay?

Cant start any job as everything is in pieces awaiting these mods.

Post Reply