What would be the downside to this?

discussion of design changes / improvements / suggestions
estes1953

What would be the downside to this?

Post by estes1953 » Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:28 pm

Could you use these, mounted top and bottom to a big piece of hardwood to make a long rail for an expansion?

It would of course require a new table and the Y axis rails raised up from it with something narrower.

I'm new to this so will not be insulted if you explain why this is a stupid idea.

Thanx, Alan
Attachments
1.jpeg
1.jpeg (6.66 KiB) Viewed 3452 times

twforeman

Re: What would be the downside to this?

Post by twforeman » Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:35 pm

You could, though wood expands and contracts with the weather.

Most people mount them to aluminum extrusions.
Ender 3 3D Printer
ShapeOko v3 serial #0004 - upgrade thread
All of my ShapeOko related blog posts

JuKu

Post by JuKu » Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:05 am

> wood expands and contracts with the weather.

Which will create tensions. then, depending on the relative stiffness of the rail and the wood, you might get deflections ro just tension. I'm guessing that for a machine stored inside, that wouldn't be an issue (furniture doesn't usually crack). Use dry wood, i.e. "furniture grade", "oven dried" or similar, not just something out of lumberyard.

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Post by WillAdams » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:40 am

Why not use one of the steel 2x4 extrusions which are often used in the stead of lumber?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

cvoinescu

Post by cvoinescu » Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:59 pm

WillAdams wrote:Why not use one of the steel 2x4 extrusions which are often used in the stead of lumber?