ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

sell your stuff here
Forum rules
Only legal items and items related to CNC projects are eligible to be advertised through this forum. if your item for sale is deemed to be not fit for the forum it will be removed without warning by one of the moderators.
HLF
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:25 pm

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by HLF » Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:54 am

What material is the screw made of?

Does anyone suffer from backlash in excess of 0.01"? I am deciding if I should use the ACME screw or find a ball screw and nut. It seems like the delrin would need replacing after a certain number of motion hours.

Also, when will the kit be available again?

-Kyle

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:31 am

The current ACME screws are stainless steel.
I have yet to have anybody report a worn out Delrin nut. I only replaced the nut on my machine when I switched to a 4 start screw, but it is still just a delrin nut.

Screws are back in stock.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Gordon
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:41 am

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Gordon » Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:50 pm

Any idea when they'll be in stock again? I think it's time for me to make the plunge.

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:45 am

I hope to have them back in stock early next week.

You can check here for updates:
http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3255
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Dhpenner1
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Dhpenner1 » Thu Oct 30, 2014 2:08 am

If you had to sum up this upgrade to one main benefit, what would it be? My stock Z rod and screw move very nice and seem to be very accurate. Thanks.

WillAdams
Posts: 8523
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by WillAdams » Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:35 am

On the wiki: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ACME_Z-axis
- 3D carving and speed-constrained on the Z (not as much of an issue if one can change the acceleration limit as on more sophisticated boards)
- Greater Z-axis accuracy (multi-layer PCBs w/ small traces)
- Greater strength and better support
- Being constrained at both ends allows one to spin the rod and move faster w/o whipping
there's also the vanity of having upgraded all the axes --- that's why I did it.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

ramos96
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:16 am

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by ramos96 » Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:26 am

Hi,

May I do this upgrade to a Version 1 Shapeoko? I seem to have damaged my delrin block.

:/
Roo

WillAdams
Posts: 8523
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by WillAdams » Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:27 am

There was a version for the SO1: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _%28SO1%29 but the parts are slightly different from the one for the SO2.

Should be easier to just source a replacement block.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:27 pm

ramos96 wrote:Hi,

May I do this upgrade to a Version 1 Shapeoko? I seem to have damaged my delrin block.

:/
Roo

I have a version available in the store for the shapeoko 1. It comes in black or white.
http://shop.shapeoko.com/products/shape ... me-upgrade
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Harasi
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:48 am

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Harasi » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:12 pm

IC. I need to contact shapeoko store regarding shipping but I can not find contact us in the site can you give me the contact mail.

Also am still unable to send private messages I just registered. Thanks
Shapeoko 2 full kit # unknown .. Makita compact router .. ACME Z axis upgrade kit

Post Reply