ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

sell your stuff here
Forum rules
Only legal items and items related to CNC projects are eligible to be advertised through this forum. if your item for sale is deemed to be not fit for the forum it will be removed without warning by one of the moderators.
Tom Smith
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:55 pm
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Tom Smith » Sun May 05, 2013 7:40 pm

WillAdams wrote:Did you clamp the rod down before cutting?

I almost broke a hacksaw blade, then clamped the rod and finished the cut w/o further incident.
Yeah, the blade teeth were worn right off...I think it is more a matter of using a better hacksaw blade!

Anyhow, I need to get more cutoff wheels, and I think they'll do the trick.
_______________
ShapeOko1 191

danimal
Posts: 332
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:53 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by danimal » Mon May 06, 2013 7:41 am

Just jumpped on one. Hope they are still in stock. I went through about 40 different suppliers and with all the coordination and work it would take to make this kit and I realized it is a really a good deal. Cant wait until it gets here. Thanks IC
Shapeoko # 1458

RT0701C Spindle || dual y motor || x axis nema23 with custom carriage 1000mm length || z axis nema23 linear rail upgrade with 1/2-10 ACME

jsbannis
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:09 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by jsbannis » Wed May 08, 2013 11:10 pm

Tom Smith wrote:
WillAdams wrote:Did you clamp the rod down before cutting?

I almost broke a hacksaw blade, then clamped the rod and finished the cut w/o further incident.
Yeah, the blade teeth were worn right off...I think it is more a matter of using a better hacksaw blade!

Anyhow, I need to get more cutoff wheels, and I think they'll do the trick.
I used a dremel cuttoff on mine and worked well; only took a few minutes.
shapeoko #0057

Tom Smith
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 9:55 pm
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Tom Smith » Thu May 09, 2013 12:02 am

jsbannis wrote: I used a dremel cuttoff on mine and worked well; only took a few minutes.

Yep, one of the fiberglass cutoff wheels did the job of cutting, then of edge smoothing :-)

Tom
_______________
ShapeOko1 191

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Fri May 24, 2013 1:47 am

Z axis upgrades are once again temporarily out of stock.
I hope to have them back in stock by the end of May.
Feel free to comment here or PM me if you would like to be notified when they are back in stock.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Thu May 30, 2013 11:49 pm

ACME Z axis upgrades are back in stock!

You can find them here:
http://www.shapeoko.com/upgrades
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

whitecloud
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:27 pm

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by whitecloud » Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:09 am

Would you consider selling just the Delrin Nuts? I need two of them and am hesitant to invest in a tap that I might never use again.

WillAdams
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by WillAdams » Wed Jul 10, 2013 1:14 am

Have you considered using metal nuts instead?

http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=751
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:15 am

Yes. I do sell just the Delrin nuts. I will send you a PM.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: ACME screw upgrade for Shapeoko Z-Axis

Post by Improbable Construct » Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:37 pm

ACME Z-axis kits are back in stock.

I received the shipment of rods today and as of... Now! :)
They are available for purchase and immediate shipping.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Post Reply