First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into stock

faresende
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:23 am

First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into stock

Post by faresende » Mon May 25, 2015 11:11 pm

Hey guys, I need some help.

I finished assembling my Shapeoko 3 and it seems I"m ready to start cutting. Everything is working fine with the machine as far as I can tell (I can control it using the Carbide Motion).

I did a couple of simple cutting paths, tested it on OpenSCAM and it all looks fine, but when I actually run it in the machine the paths that were supposed to not be cutting into the stock (just moving until the point where it actually starts cutting) are actually cutting *deeper* than the paths that were supposed to be cutting. Here are a couple of screenshots from OpenSCAM:
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 4.07.00 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 4.07.00 PM.png (188.36 KiB) Viewed 1820 times
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 4.07.07 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 4.07.07 PM.png (64.34 KiB) Viewed 1820 times
The red line that seems to be well outside of the stock on OpenSCAM are actually deeper than the green cut lines (almost as if the machine is reading it backwards). I tried doing the .nc file with makerCAM and with MeshCam and I get the same thing with both.

Help? Anyone?

I'm also adding the .nc file here just in case.

Thanks!
Cat_MakerCam_02.nc
(67.41 KiB) Downloaded 71 times

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Mon May 25, 2015 11:35 pm

Did you make any changes to your configuration based on the wiki or posts here in the forum?

Did you try using your machine w/ Easel directly connected to and controlling it?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

faresende
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:23 am

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by faresende » Mon May 25, 2015 11:40 pm

I'm definitely a novice when it comes to this.
I saw some of the config changes proposed around here but I don't even know how to do it.

I haven't used Easel at all (I wasn't able to connect to my SO3 with it). I've been using CarbideMotion to open the .nc files and run them. Is there a way to control my SO3 from easel? I could only find SO1 and 2 there.
Also: how would I go about changing the config to my SO3?

Thanks!

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Mon May 25, 2015 11:48 pm

Excellent, a nice, clean, default install.

Load the Carbide Motion Machine Control Software, connect to the machine, tap the 'M' key and then send the command $$ which will dump the settings.

Copy-paste them here.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

faresende
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:23 am

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by faresende » Tue May 26, 2015 12:01 am

First of all: thank you very much for being awesome. And for helping.

So I did the send command, but nothing happens. Was it supposed to have saved a file somewhere? I can't find anything.
I'm using CarbideMotion v2.0.314 on a Mac running Yosemite if that helps at all.

Thanks

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 12:16 am

You should have gone to an MDI screen which would have had a text area and button to send commands.

Did you tap m?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

faresende
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 7:23 am

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by faresende » Tue May 26, 2015 12:23 am

I did. And I did get to the screen to send commands. But nothing happens when I hit 'send'
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 5.22.26 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-05-25 at 5.22.26 PM.png (67.83 KiB) Viewed 1798 times

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 12:35 am

Okay. I just connected my daughter's MacBook and wasn't successful either.

You an either try contacting support@carbide3d.com about this, or if you're willing, try a different communication / control program.

I've had good luck w/ bCNC: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/BCNC

(used to use Zapmaker's GrblController, but apparently it doesn't adhere to the comms standard)
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 12:38 am

My apologies for the dry well, I guess one can't get at these settings using that software (or maybe one is supposed to hit "L" to bring up the log window, then "M" to get the MDI window, then send the command, and then the output is captured on the Log window?).

Anyway, if you're willing to try some other software, or work blind, we can try some things.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: First time using SO 3 - Positioning path cutting into st

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 12:42 am

On the wiki we have a section (just corrected, hence my question) on this: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Grbl#Grbl0.9

Relevant Grbl doc page (to compare w/ or check against): https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Configuring-Grbl-v0.9

On the wiki we have a listing for what the defaults ought to be: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... d_settings
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Post Reply