Fusion 360 post processing

Lukesdad

Fusion 360 post processing

Post by Lukesdad » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:54 am

Hello , I am new to the CNC world but have been a machinist for 23 years. I bought a shapeoko 3 and it runs great using makercam and carbide 3d. I've ran a few wooden signs to get a feel for the process and now it's time to get a little more serious so I can run prototype projects in wood and plastic. I have been using Fusion 360 for a few weeks and absolutely love it, but when I create a tool path and run the grbl post processor I get errors trying to run on the machine. Any advice on what I may be doing wrong? I have zeroed the machine, drew simple parts such as 3"x3" rectangles , still no luck , it doesn't like the g code fusion 360 is spitting out. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. And I am new to the computer/cam/g code side of things so speak slowly ;)

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: Fusion 360 post processing

Post by WillAdams » Sat Jun 13, 2015 3:27 am

Which post-processor are you using?

According to http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 076#p41626 there’s a Grbl processor:
In terms of workflow, Fusion includes a very good GRBL v0.8 post-processor, so your workflow with Fusion 360 is simply this:
Build your model in the CAD editor -> Switch to CAM mode and construct your toolpaths -> Compile the NC file using the GRBL Post Processor -> Mill with Universal G-Code Sender.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Lukesdad

Post by Lukesdad » Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:14 am