MakerCan > Shapeoko3 units and sizing problem

DannyBoyNYC

MakerCan > Shapeoko3 units and sizing problem

Post by DannyBoyNYC » Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:33 pm

Hi all. I'm relatively new to this so bear with me.

I have finished construction and am putting my Shapeoko 3 through its paces by trying to cut a simple 6" x 1" square out of plywood.

My workflow is Illustrator > Inkscape > MakerCam > Carbide Motion with a .25" bit.
My settings are factory default (verified in Carbide Motion's terminal window and against those posted to the wiki).
My problem is getting the cutout to measure 6" x 1". It is always over or under.
I use inches for measurement in Illustrator and then process and recheck in Inkscape and I have tried the following in MakerCam:
Cut #1 - Makercam - settings in inches
Cut #2 - Makercam - settings in mm
Cut #3 - Makercam - set the prefs to 90
My profile settings are:

I'm pretty certain this has been covered before but cannot find the post. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thanks!

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: MakerCan > Shapeoko3 units and sizing problem

Post by WillAdams » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:30 pm

Inkscape 0.91?

I suspect that you’re encountering the new 96ppi sizing which it implements.

Obviously time for some experimentation.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

DannyBoyNYC

Post by DannyBoyNYC » Sun Jul 26, 2015 9:48 pm

Thanks Will.

I find it odd that screen measurements (pixels per inch) have any impact on the output. e.g. When I design a 6 x 1 inch square and print to a 8.5x11 sheet of paper they don't factor in at all!

I guess this technology is not quite as mature as desktop publishing ;) or web design for that matter.

So do I change the stepper settings in the GRBL defaults or just resize everything to a specific percentage in Illustrator?