Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post Reply
ArtFaks
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:37 am
Location: France

Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by ArtFaks » Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:38 pm

Hi, after some problem with Chilipeppr...

How to optimize my "gcode" created with Makercam?

I try the software which is indicated on the shapeoko wiki but I can't use it with Windows 10.

I would like a software compatible with Windows10 or OS Maverick. What do you advise me?

I ask this question because the exported gcode by Makercam cause some problem with Chilipeppr. Too many error because too much zero pointless!

Thanks
Shapeoko2 - Homemade CNC Control box - 400W/48V Chinese Spindle - Protoneer V3 Shield + DRV8825
Process - Illustrator > Makercam > UGCS

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by WillAdams » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:53 am

If I understand correctly, you’re experiencing difficulties w/ too long lines from MakerCAM.

Surprised Chilipepper doesn’t have an option for this.

I just use the text editor SciTE, and a GREP find-replace:

http://www.scintilla.org/SciTE.html

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/FAQ#MakerCAM

Search for:

Code: Select all

\.\(\d\d\d\d\)\d*
replace w/:

Code: Select all

.\1
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

ArtFaks
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:37 am
Location: France

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by ArtFaks » Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:16 am

Thanks a lot @WillAdams, you correctly understand ;-) (sorry, i'm not proud about my double dutch language)

This is that i need --> http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/download/file.php?id=1610
Shapeoko2 - Homemade CNC Control box - 400W/48V Chinese Spindle - Protoneer V3 Shield + DRV8825
Process - Illustrator > Makercam > UGCS

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by WillAdams » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:00 am

Your English is far better than the Korean which was one of my cradle tongues, and which I spent a year in the Air Force relearning.

As I noted, I just process the files by hand w/ a text editor.

The file which you linked to is a .html page w/ Javascript which should open in your web browser --- double-click on "index.html" and allow it to run code.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

ArtFaks
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:37 am
Location: France

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by ArtFaks » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:29 pm

Ok, thanks

By hand, line by line, I'm sure with the good result.

With the html/jquery code, this is done automatically and i can be sure with the result?
Shapeoko2 - Homemade CNC Control box - 400W/48V Chinese Spindle - Protoneer V3 Shield + DRV8825
Process - Illustrator > Makercam > UGCS

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by WillAdams » Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:04 pm

I don't do it line-by-line (if I did, I'm sure I'd mangle something, somehow) --- the GREP code I provided will let one do it as a global replacement, in a single step for a file.

The HTML file should work well --- ISTR testing it, I just find using a text editor more convenient.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

ArtFaks
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:37 am
Location: France

Re: Optimize GCode from Makercam?

Post by ArtFaks » Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:16 pm

Ok @WillAdams, thanks for all these informations. ;-)
Shapeoko2 - Homemade CNC Control box - 400W/48V Chinese Spindle - Protoneer V3 Shield + DRV8825
Process - Illustrator > Makercam > UGCS

Post Reply