New Canadian to CNC. HELP!

bdemelis

New Canadian to CNC. HELP!

Post by bdemelis » Fri Mar 25, 2016 4:35 pm

hello All
I am new to CNC and purchased a SO3 recently understanding there would be some time needed to learn. I am looking for someone who is local to me who can assist me with compensation of course. I just want the basics of the operations where I can then take over from. I am just north of the GTA area in Toronto, Ontario and am willing to come to your shop at your convenience. If there is anyone out there who is willing to help someone who chewed too much.....that would be appreciated. you can email me at bdemelis@rogers.com

Regards...

Shook

Re: New Canadian to CNC. HELP!

Post by Shook » Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:54 pm

I'm pretty far from Canada, but do you have specific questions that we can answer? There's a ton of helpful folks here.

Have you done the "Hello Shaepoko" test yet?
Shapeoko 3 (#1107)

bdemelis

Post by bdemelis » Sun Mar 27, 2016 2:08 pm

thanks for the reply, yes I have done that with success. When I follow the videos put out by Carbide which shows step by step instructions on creating something and follow them to a T, I sometimes get good results and other times not good. I seem to have an issue creating gcode that will run in Carbide Motion that is consistent and I don't know why or what I'm doing wrong. I am not great on computers and will admit that but if I can get someone to go over the process from the design stage to cutting the part out, I think that will help me a long way. I am a visual learner and don't do very well with instructions. if I cant find anyone in this area, it might be best to sell it all. Sorry but I don't have specific questions but it seems each time I spend a couple of hours in the shop on the CNC, it does not go well and then frustration sets in and I give up.

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Post by WillAdams » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:54 pm