Quiet Cut Spindle take apart and review

Quiet Cut Spindle take apart and review

Postby DeeDeeDesign » Sat Oct 25, 2014 5:50 pm

Hey all,
I've purchased and 'consumed' two quiet cut spindles and decided to do a mini review showing several design defects that I think could be fixed and still have a spindle that costs about $80. Here's a video I took (and then added several clarifications to):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7P5THNN ... e=youtu.be

Full disclosure:
I work in the hobbyist CNC industry and the Quiet Cut Spindle is an indirect competitor because it is used on competing mini-CNC platforms. We were going to use this spindle on a CNC machine we sell, but decided not to due to the analysis I present in this video.

I've tried to add useful engineering feedback in hopes that the spindle can be made better for future DIYers.
DeeDeeDesign

Re: Quiet Cut Spindle take apart and review

Postby dave_the_nerd » Sun Oct 26, 2014 3:15 am

Interesting. Thanks for sharing.
Shapeoko 2 # 6651: 500x1000mm, Acme screw and belt drive Z-axis, DW660 w/ IC mount, Arduino/grblShield w/ gCode 0.9g and 3D-printed electronics enclosure.
dave_the_nerd

Postby systemdm » Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:26 pm

DeeDeeDesign,

Would you have one that you recommend?

Thanks,
DR
systemdm

Postby ThatOtherGuy435 » Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:20 pm

Alternatively to a recommendation on alternative, is there a way to modify these to not suck?

It seems like there are 2 extremes in the hobbyist spindle market: This junk, and the super-accurate low power PCB spindles.

~Edit~
There seems to be at least one guy who has gotten the chuck off the shaft on these cheap motors: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=4289

Possible, then, to at least replace the 608Z bearings with angular contacts bearings? Understanding that there will still be slush from the questionable ptfe 'squish' washer.
ShapeOko1 #??? - 1000mm Dual-drive Y, Double X, S2 gantry motor plates, ACME Z-Axis.
ThatOtherGuy435

Postby paulctan » Fri Nov 07, 2014 5:10 pm