What bit to level/plane work surface

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by etxbkst » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:17 pm

What bit would you all recommend for planing the work surface? My B&D RTX uses a 1/8" shank.

WillAdams
Posts: 8588
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by WillAdams » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:29 pm

I picked up one of these a while back:

Image

http://www.dremel.com/en-us/Accessories ... px?pid=115

and have been planning on using it for that, but still need to work out a good mounting system for my Dremel 4000.

William
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by etxbkst » Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:41 pm

WillAdams wrote:I picked up one of these a while back:

Image

http://www.dremel.com/en-us/Accessories ... px?pid=115

and have been planning on using it for that, but still need to work out a good mounting system for my Dremel 4000.

William
Thank you! My local Lowes has that in stock! I tried to use a 1/8" end mill, but it was just wasn't working too cleanly.

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by etxbkst » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:16 am

WillAdams wrote:I picked up one of these a while back:

Image

http://www.dremel.com/en-us/Accessories ... px?pid=115

and have been planning on using it for that, but still need to work out a good mounting system for my Dremel 4000.

William
If you don't mind, I'd like to ask you a slightly off topic question. I am thinking of expanding the X axis to 500mm, and the Y to 1000. The X shouldn't need dual motors, but do you think I could get away with just one for the Y?

WillAdams
Posts: 8588
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by WillAdams » Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:40 am

I've extended my Y-axis to 1m, and only use 1 motor, but added a driveshaft:
http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Drive_Shaft

Details of my low-budget machine here: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/User:Willadams
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by cvoinescu » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:34 am

You do need some form of dual drive on Y (two motors, one motor and driveshaft) for a 500 mm long X axis. I'm not aware of anyone using more than one motor on their X axis, though.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

bjbsquared
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:48 am

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by bjbsquared » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:01 pm

WillAdams wrote: Details of my low-budget machine here: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/User:Willadams
I like the clean look of your machine. It doesn't look "low budget" at all..
#1016 - 1M x 1M Y: Dual Motor Drive w/Looped Belts, X:Dual Rail with wlanfox blocks, Z: Stock, Spindle:DW660

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by etxbkst » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:09 pm

cvoinescu wrote:You do need some form of dual drive on Y (two motors, one motor and driveshaft) for a 500 mm long X axis. I'm not aware of anyone using more than one motor on their X axis, though.
I've settled on 600mm Y and 600mm X (mostly because I can get makerslide in 1800mm piece). I've been thinking more about the dual drive, and I'm considering wiring my Ys in parallel. I made the mistake of buying a TB6560 with 3 axis only, so I am hoping I have enough power to run both Ys off the same driver. I know I will need to wire one backwards, so they both spin the same way. Right now I am mostly working on figuring out how exactly to wire them up. My first thought on the end plates was to cut the ones I have. My other idea is to use the generic wheel carriage plates in portrait attached to some extruded aluminum.

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by etxbkst » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:17 pm

WillAdams wrote:I've extended my Y-axis to 1m, and only use 1 motor, but added a driveshaft:
http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Drive_Shaft

Details of my low-budget machine here: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/User:Willadams
Is it necessary to move the belt to the outside for a drive shaft?

WillAdams
Posts: 8588
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: What bit to level/plane work surface

Post by WillAdams » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:33 pm

etxbkst wrote:Is it necessary to move the belt to the outside for a drive shaft?
Necessary? No.

Extremely desirable? Yes.

Required so one doesn't lose an inordinate amount of working area to the belts? Probably.

Best thing would be to route one's belts so that they can stay on the inside w/o reducing the work area --- but I think on the motor side one may have issues w/ the carriage running into the coupler.

YMMV.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Post Reply