Page 1 of 1

Is there anyway of loading a config file?

Posted: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:57 pm
by jininjin
is anyway of loading a config file rather than typing lines of code in JSON or TinyG console? I couldn't find any info on this.

Re: Is there anyway of loading a config file?

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:24 pm
by cmcgrath5035

Re: Is there anyway of loading a config file?

Posted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:26 pm
by JeromyReno
what are you using to set your parameters?

if you are using cool term i have a cool trick.

make a text file with every parameter in it. make sure every one of them is entered on its own line.

1: go into options menu
2: click on transmit
3: check the use transmit line delay box
4: put 2000 in the delay(ms): box
5: put 0A in the delay characters (hex): box
6: open your text file with your settings
7: right click and select all
8: right click again and copy every thing selected.
9: go to the command line in coolterm and right click
10: paste the contents of your text file, it will look like one long sentence
11: press enter then take a break cause you earned it.

what did you just do you ask? well, you made a text file with all of the setting you wanted in it and put a carriage return at the end of every setting (by hitting enter and making a new line). you told cool term to send every setting then take a break for 2000 milliseconds when it gets to the carriage return(0A) at the end of each line. that gives the tinyG a chance to respond and tell you what it did, then go back to revive mode. if you have a faster machine you might be able to use a smaller delay. if the delay is to fast you will miss settings. i started out too fast and worked my way up to 2000 before it worked. it would miss settings that came after long text returns from the tinyG

or use this text file. it's set for my shapeoko 3. it's a base line. i guess people run a different $*TR settings that are better. and it tells the machine you have switches for homing and limits.

simply adjust the settings and send them threw coolterm and enjoy.

Code: Select all

$ja=2000000
$st=1
$mt=10

$1ma=0
$1sa=1.8
$1tr=40
$1mi=8
$1po=0
$1pm=1

$2ma=1
$2sa=1.8
$2tr=40
$2mi=8
$2po=0
$2pm=1

$3ma=1
$3sa=1.8
$3tr=40
$3mi=8
$3po=1
$3pm=1

$4ma=2
$4sa=1.8
$4tr=40
$4mi=8
$4po=0
$4pm=1

$xam=1
$xvm=5000
$xfr=2500
$xtn=0
$xtm=425
$xjm=5000
$xjh=5000
$xjd=0.02
$xsn=3
$xsx=2
$xsv=2000
$xlv=100
$xlb=20
$xzb=3

$yam=1
$yvm=5000
$yfr=2500
$ytn=0
$ytm=465
$yjm=5000
$yjh=5000
$yjd=0.02
$ysn=3
$ysx=2
$ysv=2000
$ylv=100
$ylb=20
$yzb=3

$zam=1
$zvm=800
$zfr=800
$ztn=0
$ztm=100
$zjm=5000
$zjh=2500
$zjd=0.02
$zsn=1
$zsx=3
$zsv=3000
$zlv=100
$zlb=20
$zzb=3

$aam=0
$avm=800
$afr=800
$atn=0
$atm=100
$ajm=50
$ajh=1000
$ajd=0.01
$asn=0
$asx=0
$asv=3000
$alv=100
$alb=20
$azb=3

$bam=0
$bvm=800
$bfr=800
$btn=0
$btm=100
$bjm=50
$bjh=1000
$bjd=0.01
$bsn=0
$bsx=0
$bsv=3000
$blv=100
$blb=20
$bzb=3

$cam=0
$cvm=800
$cfr=800
$ctn=0
$ctm=100
$cjm=50
$cjh=1000
$cjd=0.01
$csn=0
$csx=0
$csv=3000
$clv=100
$clb=20
$czb=3

$$

Re: Is there anyway of loading a config file?

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:41 pm
by jininjin
Thanks! Im currently using chilipeppr so I ended up using cmcgrath5035 suggestion. Eitherway this will help other users im sure.

Re: Is there anyway of loading a config file?

Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:12 pm
by JeromyReno
jininjin wrote:Thanks! Im currently using chilipeppr so I ended up using cmcgrath5035 suggestion. Eitherway this will help other users im sure.

i use chilipeppr too, i'll have to check out what he suggested too!