My first surface mount PCB

Post Reply
conoral11
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:57 am

My first surface mount PCB

Post by conoral11 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:50 am

Hi there,

One of the reasons for getting an eShapeoko (84) was to make prototype PCBs.

Here is my first successful result.

Image

I've milled it on a test piece of FR2 copper clad board, that's why there are some machine marks and previous attempts (Bottom right corner).

But even still, all the traces buzz out correctly with no shorts or opens.

This was done using a 0.2mm 30degree cutter at 800mm/s.

I'm using the Cyclone PCB firmware and electronics, and have had a go with Z-Probing. It does work (Although this was done without Z-Probing, as you can see with the deeper cuts at the top vs the bottom).

And for the actual cutting out of the board.... my mistake there :shock: manually jogged the cutter forgetting to reduce the speed and depth.

Conoral11

calica
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:13 am

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by calica » Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:20 pm

Looks good. What size traces? What are you using for a spindle?

If you're using pcb-gcode, I modified it to do multiple milling passes, each slightly deeper. No need to adjust feed rate override.

conoral11
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:57 am

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by conoral11 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:53 pm

Good question, let me see....

Traces are: 16mil (accept in between the pads where it is 12mil).

I am using PCB-GCODE to generate the gcode.

I'm currently trying to get the Cyclone PCB Factory software to work correctly with files not made with KiCad...

Conoral11

veng1
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:09 pm

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by veng1 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:02 pm

I've only used the T-Tech software which cuts the board out with a router bit but if I remember correctly the Cyclone software will cut a score line with the engraving bit that allows you to finish cutting the board out with a box knife or an X-ACTO.

conoral11
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:57 am

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by conoral11 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:44 pm

Just a quick update:

I've written a probe algorithm in C to control the electronics and adjust the Z values.

It splits the GCODE up into 0.2mm segments at the moment, although that is adjustable.

Here is my first run at it with the new routine:

Image

It is the set of horizontal traces dead centre, you can see all of my tests around it :shock:

And here is an actual circuit (again on some scrap). Shame the board lifted part way...

Image

And here is a photo with some sun behind it...

Image

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by cvoinescu » Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:16 pm

The result is encouraging. I am definitely interested in the program.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

morrows_end
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:45 am

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by morrows_end » Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:05 pm

calica wrote:If you're using pcb-gcode, I modified it to do multiple milling passes, each slightly deeper. No need to adjust feed rate override.
Would you mind posting this modified milling code? This seems easier than adjusting the feed rate.

pcbboardsreivew
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:55 am
Location: Shenzhen,China
Contact:

Re: My first surface mount PCB

Post by pcbboardsreivew » Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:02 am

The picture is encouraging to me,I am a lover of PCB manufacture,If you give more detail,we can learn more from you experices.Thank you
experienced PCB board manufacturer

Post Reply