Interested in Shapeoko v2 for PCBs

alexig

Interested in Shapeoko v2 for PCBs

Post by alexig » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:14 pm

Hi,

I'm looking into CNC mills (I've never used one before and I'm not very mechanical), found the Shapeoko v2 was released and wondering if anyone can post their experience here with the new version 2 of the full kit for milling PCBs? My main reason is that I'd like to do rapid prototyping, I know I could use a cheap PCB fab but for once off boards I'd rather have it quicker if it's work-able.

- How's the performance for PCBs?
- What's the smallest trace you've been able to do?
- How about pin width for QFP packages, have you been able to do 0.8mm, 0.5mm (or lower)? I read that it used the NMEA 17 stepper motors which should give 400 steps/rev (or 200 steps?) so that should be a few steps per mm?
- How long does it usually take to go from your PCB design to the finished result and is there much playing around with settings for each run? (I'm using Eagle)

Cheers.

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: Interested in Shapeoko v2 for PCBs

Post by WillAdams » Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:16 pm

There's been some discussion of using the v1 for PCBs, but nothing for v2 as-of-yet --- check w/ Inventables on their site and see if anyone there has made any yet?
alexig wrote:I read that it used the NMEA 17 stepper motors which should give 400 steps/rev (or 200 steps?) so that should be a few steps per mm?
This has been clarified a bit. We now have a page on this on the wiki:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... figuration

and the specifications on the http://docs.shapeoko.com/ site:
The work area is approximately 12" x 12" x 3.5" and precision is dependent upon the belts, pulleys, motors and electronics which are selected (for the default SO2, that is 1/40th of a mm along X and Y, 1/320th of a mm along Z
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets