Page 2 of 2

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:02 am
by eva1985
oh, i like this board, very good.

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:14 pm
by CastIrony
scott216 wrote:I was getting ready to solder it and it struck me I didn't take into account the holes are not plated through :cry: Most of the holes are for headers and I can't solder those pads if they are on the top layer. Previous to this all my double sided boards were sent out to be made so the holes were plated through. I won't make that mistake again.

To get good results you need pretty low spindle run-out. I found on my Dewalt DW660 that the collet runout varied a lot from one collet to another.

I read a tip somewhere that flatbed scanners do a good jog for "taking pictures" of PCB boards, that how I got the pictures I posted.
I remember reading somewhere that people were having luck doing DIY thru-hole plating, painting the holes with conductive ink first.

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:40 am
by scott216
CastIrony wrote: I remember reading somewhere that people were having luck doing DIY thru-hole plating, painting the holes with conductive ink first.
I discovered something called PCB rivets and have been using these. I'm using them as a via, not as a "plated hole" that a part goes in. You can also put a part through it, but only if the parts wire has a pretty small diameter (at least for the size rivets I have). I got mine on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... t&_sacat=0

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Thu May 14, 2015 5:49 pm
by roontoon
Nice board. I am going to attempt my first double sided board and I found FlatCAM very useful in creating the G-code. It has options for double sided boards.

d

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Sat May 16, 2015 12:37 pm
by scott216
roontoon wrote:Nice board. I am going to attempt my first double sided board and I found FlatCAM very useful in creating the G-code. It has options for double sided boards.

d
If you're using Cadsoft Eagle to design your boards, then I'd recommend using pcb-gcode to create the gcode. It's a ULP script that works right withing Eagle and works very well.

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Sun May 17, 2015 12:31 am
by roontoon
Thanks. I am using KiCAD.

Re: Double Sided PCB

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:25 am
by richardcn
I like this board, very good.I think this is FR1 board!