GRBL Auto Leveling?

aiden1015
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:30 am

GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by aiden1015 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 1:08 am

I've had my Shapeoko 2 for a few weeks now working my way up to circuit boards. I use Eagle and the PCB G-Code ULP but ran into the typical problems with a unleveled bed. Half is etched through, and then it gets lighter and then misses the copper clad all together.

First thing I did was use some plywood and made a 1mm deep 4"x6" pocket to tape down my copper clad using the thin double-sided tape. But out of paranoia I looked for autoleveling scripts using the v-bit as a probe from here: http://martin2250.blogspot.de/2014/12/g ... orial.html

First problem I ran into was that when I tried to run it, it didn't move the steppers at all even though everything was plugged in and I was on the right COM port. So I decided to say screw it and hoped my pocket did a good job leveling it to my spindle...it didn't. I ended up with the same problem as to be expected; one side went through all the copper, then as it moved across the x-axis it got thinner and finally non-existent.

Has anyone else used the probing script from the above link using GRBL? Is there anything better that people have used using the stock motor controller?

WillAdams
Posts: 8488
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by WillAdams » Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:37 pm

All I'd found was: http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/ listed at http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/CAM#PCB

Added your link.

Maybe the added visibility will help.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

scott216
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by scott216 » Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:43 pm

I've been meaning to see if I can autolevel with Chilipeppr:
https://github.com/synthetos/TinyG/wiki ... Auto-Level

The above link is a version of Chilipeppr that's works with the TinyG, here is a version that works with GRBL: http://chilipeppr.com/jarret

I haven't followed Chilipeppr close enough to know how similar the two flavors of chilipeppr are to one another.
Shapeoko 2 with DW660
grbl v0.9g
PCB Toolchain: Cadsoft Eagle > pcb-gcode > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
Other Toolchain: Fusion 360 > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
My Build Log
Location: New Jersey

Jimf
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:58 pm

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by Jimf » Sat Mar 21, 2015 4:15 pm

For users who are using MACH3, this one works pretty good. Not only for flat pieces but can even mill on curved surfaces too.

http://www.scorchworks.com/Blog/auto-pr ... de-ripper/

Before I used leveling software, I just mounted a scrap piece of MDF on the CNC bed and then surfaced it flat. This makes the surface parallel to the cutter/rails. I then placed my pc board on the MDF.

jlauer
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:29 pm

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by jlauer » Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:49 pm

Grbl version of ChiliPeppr
http://chilipeppr.com/grbl

TinyG version
http://chilipeppr.com/tinyg

Also, you can now drag/drop an Eagle PCB board direct into ChiliPeppr without using pcbgcode.

aiden1015
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:30 am

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by aiden1015 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:58 am

I started using Chilipeppr and that works great. Thanks for the help.

The g-code generation doesn't seem to be very good. It messed up a few of my traces and can't do arcs. Is there an overview on the ULP PCB-gcode generator for Eagle?

I understand the machine tab, but the board section of the generation options seems redundant with the machine tab.

scott216
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by scott216 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:15 am

aiden1015 wrote:I started using Chilipeppr and that works great. Thanks for the help.

The g-code generation doesn't seem to be very good. It messed up a few of my traces and can't do arcs. Is there an overview on the ULP PCB-gcode generator for Eagle?

I understand the machine tab, but the board section of the generation options seems redundant with the machine tab.
Here's the user's manual for pcbgcode: https://www.assembla.com/code/pcbgcode/ ... bgcode.pdf
Shapeoko 2 with DW660
grbl v0.9g
PCB Toolchain: Cadsoft Eagle > pcb-gcode > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
Other Toolchain: Fusion 360 > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
My Build Log
Location: New Jersey

aiden1015
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:30 am

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by aiden1015 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:20 pm

I saw the manual, but it didn't seem to help. For example, on the first tab in the board section, I select generate milling and set the depth. But then I go over to the machine tab where it shows the actual end mill and explains what the different parameters are. I just don't seem to understand what the difference between those two are and it doesn't seem clear in the PDF

scott216
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by scott216 » Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:44 pm

aiden1015 wrote:I saw the manual, but it didn't seem to help. For example, on the first tab in the board section, I select generate milling and set the depth. But then I go over to the machine tab where it shows the actual end mill and explains what the different parameters are. I just don't seem to understand what the difference between those two are and it doesn't seem clear in the PDF
On the first tab, milling refers to cutting out the PCB board's perimeter, not the cutting of the copper traces. So the depth is about the same same as the thickness of the PCB. I like to go a little deeper, but you can go shallower if you don't want to cut into whatever kind of board you have under the PCB. Pcbgcode will generate gcode for the milling based on whatever you have on layer 46 in eagle. Note, when you mill the board outline, pcb-gode just goes down the centerline of the line on layer 46. So if you have a 2" x 2" PCB and just have a thin outline line on layer 46 and a 1/8" end mill, your board will be 1-7/8 x 1/78. What I like to do is make my line width in Eagle the same width as my milling end mill and adjust the line position so the edge is where I want.

If you have text on layer 46, then that gcode is put into a text gcode file. The depth for the text is also set on the first tab.

Depth for cutting the copper traces (etching) is on the Machine tab in the Z-axis section called z-down. Depth for drilling holes is right below that.
I attached screen shots of my settings. I'm still playing with the etching feedrate, I think I can go higher.
I use a Dewalt DW660 at 30k rpm with a PreciseBit EM3E8 isolation bit. I also put WD-40 on my PCB. I plan to experiment with cutting dry.
A good place to get answers for PCBGcode is this Yahoo Group
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/pcb ... s/messages
Attachments
Generation Tab.png
PCB-GCode setup Generation Options Tab
Generation Tab.png (137.71 KiB) Viewed 9115 times
Machine Tab.png
PCB-GCode setup machine tab
Machine Tab.png (136.49 KiB) Viewed 9115 times
Shapeoko 2 with DW660
grbl v0.9g
PCB Toolchain: Cadsoft Eagle > pcb-gcode > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
Other Toolchain: Fusion 360 > Chilipeppr or GRBL Panel
My Build Log
Location: New Jersey

reganissu
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: GRBL Auto Leveling?

Post by reganissu » Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:37 pm

I started using Chilipeppr and that works great. Thanks for the help.

The g-code generation doesn't seem to be very good. It messed up a few of my traces and can't do arcs. Is there an overview on the ULP PCB-gcode generator for Eagle?

I understand the machine tab, but the board section of the generation options seems redundant with the machine tab.
I am trying too to use Chilipeppr Autoleveling with grbl , but while I can run gcode well in Chilipeppr, I cannot succed in autoleveling.
When I run the probing, I got the S02 starting to probe without touching the pcb (it was over 5 mm higher than surface), doing two or three probes (reported on the screen as superwarped pcb) and then crashing with "Probe Failed! Alarm state" error message.

I think I did the wrong setting with arduino pins / probe /pcb wiring. The failed test had ground pcb wired to ground arduino pin and the alligator clip on the bit (probe) on the A5 arduino pin. Is this the right setup?
Shapeoko 2 with 1000mm xrail, makita router
Prusa I3, 3D printer

Post Reply