Page 2 of 3

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:22 am
by zapmaker
I checked the code and it is truncating to 50 characters, which is the buffer size, but unfortunately I didn't add the linefeed characters to the count, which is sent later, thus it overflows the buffer causing the error. One easy temporary solution is to change the Grbl Line Buffer Size in Tools | Options from 50 to 49, which should solve the problem. That changes Grbl Controller's expectations of grbl's buffer size - it doesn't change anything in grbl itself!

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:38 pm
by pacaj2am
Thank you... BTW on windows it is sending both characters \n \r, shouldn't you substract 2 characters?

Odesláno z mého SM-G900F pomocí Tapatalk

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:55 am
by kf2qd
Why are you sending so many decimal places??? You can't possible position within several orders of magnitude of that precision so those values are being rounded anyway. in metric 3 or 4 decimal places is more than enough. You gain NOTHING by using that many decimal places, except causing GRBL to choke on the overly long line.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 5:42 am
by pacaj2am
That was a bug in makercam when it was switched to mm.

Newest makercam (in github) doesn't suffer from this.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:07 pm
by philIam
Could this be a possible solution to my makercam thread?

http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 6&start=10

But I'm in inches.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:50 pm
by philIam
OK so i just had a successful cut and I didn't have ANY circles. So it must be the circle problem... tightened belt but still worried its going to dive into the sheet. maybe ill mod my file.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 3:42 pm
by philIam
Better router may tear through these possible cathcing spots around the circles?

I'm using quiet spindle now to cut 5052 aluminum. I'm thinking Dewalt dw660 with speed controller?

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 4:41 pm
by cvoinescu
philIam wrote: I'm thinking Dewalt dw660 with speed controller?
For the same money (roughly), get the Makita RT0701C. Its built-in speed controller is way better, and the tool is better built too. The only downside is that it doesn't come with a 1/8" collet, so that's more money for a third-party collet or an adapter, if you want to use 1/8" tools.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:17 pm
by kayenhere1
lordmundi wrote:
Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
interesting. FWIW, if you truncate the file yourself, you can probably send awsome store it with no issues using the stream python script that comes with grbl ninja. It works great on the command line for me.
I truncated in python script and really found no issues :-) The implementation in GRBL Controller is not working.

Re: Problem with circles

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:11 pm
by GG441
It seems like when you were drilling your machine somehow slipped or did not get the same force.