Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Discussion about the arduino based g-code interpreter, grbl
cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by cclontz » Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:00 pm

First, I've spent days searching this and other forums so I'm breaking down and starting a new post. and I'm using a stock Shapeoko 2. It was running great under .8c but slow. I read all the great posts on .9g and upgraded and now I cannot get a single file to run. I am using UGS 1.08 (12/18). My GRBL setting are below. And yes, I am new to CNC but I have been able to mill a dozen or so project successfully. Most of my g-code is generated with Makercam from inkscape and I change the dpi to 90. Here's the issue. Half the time after zero'ing the mill, I load my g-code and send and it goes to someplace random and starts doing something it should not. Other times it starts ok then on the 2nd or 3rd pass it just goes haywire and cuts through something it milled. I check all my G-code with OpenScam and $C and it all looks good. I removed the G40. I added $N0=G20G90. I checked all my movements (mechanical). Help!!!.

Grbl 0.9g ['$' for help]
>>> $$
$0=10 (step pulse, usec)
$1=255 (step idle delay, msec)
$2=0 (step port invert mask:00000000)
$3=7 (dir port invert mask:00000111)
$4=0 (step enable invert, bool)
$5=0 (limit pins invert, bool)
$6=0 (probe pin invert, bool)
$10=3 (status report mask:00000011)
$11=0.050 (junction deviation, mm)
$12=0.002 (arc tolerance, mm)
$13=0 (report inches, bool)
$14=1 (auto start, bool)
$20=0 (soft limits, bool)
$21=0 (hard limits, bool)
$22=0 (homing cycle, bool)
$23=0 (homing dir invert mask:00000000)
$24=25.000 (homing feed, mm/min)
$25=250.000 (homing seek, mm/min)
$26=250 (homing debounce, msec)
$27=1.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
$100=40.000 (x, step/mm)
$101=40.000 (y, step/mm)
$102=320.000 (z, step/mm)
$110=2200.000 (x max rate, mm/min)
$111=1000.000 (y max rate, mm/min)
$112=300.000 (z max rate, mm/min)
$120=400.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
$121=50.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)
$122=50.000 (z accel, mm/sec^2)
$130=200.000 (x max travel, mm)
$131=200.000 (y max travel, mm)
$132=200.000 (z max travel, mm)

Schruminator
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: Littleton, CO
Contact:

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by Schruminator » Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:57 am

At quick glance, the settings look to be okay... I know that's not of much help, but I just wanted to say that I didn't see anything blatantly wrong..
1.8m x 1.0m SO2 #3638 / Vectric Aspire / ACME Z-axis / View my photography at http://www.mschrum.com

cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by cclontz » Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:43 am

Thank you. This is a help. Hopefully someone can help with some ideas. I'm getting tired of wasting material and have nothing else I can find to try.

RobCee
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by RobCee » Sun Dec 21, 2014 10:58 am

My only thoughts are:

It is usual to have the X&Y settings using similar values for max rates and acceleration - yours are very different.

Is the step idle delay value you are using correct? - I am not sure what it is usually set to with a ShapeOko (I can't check mine today).

Good luck!
ShapeOko2 #3400 - Chinese 800W AC Spindle - Stiffened X-Axis - TR10 Z-Axis - Inverted Z Motor - Hall Effect Limits - Drag Chains & Custom Brackets

cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by cclontz » Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:04 pm

RobCee wrote:My only thoughts are:

It is usual to have the X&Y settings using similar values for max rates and acceleration - yours are very different.

Is the step idle delay value you are using correct? - I am not sure what it is usually set to with a ShapeOko (I can't check mine today).

Good luck!
Thanks. They were both the same. Both were about 5000 after the upgrade but in troubleshooting I lowered them a couple times and apparently did not get them in sync. I will fix that but it seems to not have changed the behavior. I did notice a bit of a speed difference while doing a circle so this would make sense.

Schruminator
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: Littleton, CO
Contact:

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by Schruminator » Mon Dec 22, 2014 2:34 am

Mulling it over some more, I really don't think these settings should cause the steppers to go haywire. Either they should work or fail... there shouldn't be much of an "in between".

Assuming you haven't adjusted the trimpots for the current recently (and it was working fine before), have you changed anything else? Noise in your USB cord would be my next guess. A long cord can pick up noise and muck up your commands pretty easy. Is the USB cord next to any other cables that could be causing interference? I know I had random (albeit rare) issues pop up that finally went away after I separated my USB cord from my other cables by a few inches.
1.8m x 1.0m SO2 #3638 / Vectric Aspire / ACME Z-axis / View my photography at http://www.mschrum.com

cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by cclontz » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:09 pm

Schruminator wrote:Mulling it over some more, I really don't think these settings should cause the steppers to go haywire. Either they should work or fail... there shouldn't be much of an "in between".

Assuming you haven't adjusted the trimpots for the current recently (and it was working fine before), have you changed anything else? Noise in your USB cord would be my next guess. A long cord can pick up noise and muck up your commands pretty easy. Is the USB cord next to any other cables that could be causing interference? I know I had random (albeit rare) issues pop up that finally went away after I separated my USB cord from my other cables by a few inches.
Thanks again. Here's a bit of an update. I spent some time checking all axis to make sure I had free movement. I moved the controller further away from the PC and cleaned up any wiring. I used the demo of Meshcam for about 4-5 objects I found on Thingiverse (2D and 2.5D only). I was able to mill a few without to much of an issue other than some depth isus which means I still have some adjustments but that is not a GRBL issue. I plan to make a few simple items in inkscape and use Makercam and test a few more. I have 3 guesses at this point. 1) I plan to add ferrite cores to my cables (had a bunch but they disappeared so will be a short while). 2) I moved the vacuum to another circuit to isolate it. 3) I am wondering if I one of my axis was not moving smoothly and causing it to get off track from the design. This is going to be a hard one to track down. Thanks to for the help. I'll work on these three and see if anything improves.

bjustison
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Delaware

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by bjustison » Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:50 pm

If you are using UGS to send your G-Code, I read that you need to change the baud rate from 9600 to 115200 with GRBL 9.
Bob - Shapeoko 2 # 6030 - Full Kit, ACME Z Axis Upgrade, with Dremel MultiPro.

cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems

Post by cclontz » Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:54 pm

bjustison wrote:If you are using UGS to send your G-Code, I read that you need to change the baud rate from 9600 to 115200 with GRBL 9.
Thank you. It is running at 115200. I need to post an update.

cclontz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

Re: Upgraded .8 to .9G and loads of problems (SOLVED)

Post by cclontz » Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:12 pm

Thanks to everyone's help and suggestions. I waited a little while to see if everything was resolved and I think it's all worked out now. So for the benefit of others, here is what finally resolved my issues.

1) I disassembled the gantry and Z axis completely and reassembled both. Just as others have mentioned in this forum, I had a wicked wobble in my Z axis that I had tried everything to resolve and this finally did the trick. The Z axis is smooth as silk. This resolved part or all of the issues with end mill plowing through my piece as it must have been stalling when it tried to raise up. As for the gantry, it may have been fine but I tightened everything and made sure it was running smoothly and not missing any steps.

2) I turned up both my X and Y current. I did see one or two skips. I put my hand just in front of the movement and it stuttered. It now has a little more torque.

3) Despite all efforts to force the UGS into inches and Absolute coordinate positioning on start up ($N0=G20G90) it still was getting off. I realized that Makercam is adding a G41 in the Gcode which is unrecognized and causing the line containing G20 G90 G41 to be ignored (.9 ignores the whole line now). I also noticed that if in UGS I go to command mode and type G20G90 and then go jog the servos I still see G20 G91 being sent. So my workflow is now. CAM in Makercam > edit gcode and strip G41 > Load Gcode > Zero my servos > execute G20G90 > send the file.

I have successfully run a few 4 hour jobs and jobs back to back with no issues at all. So in summary, it appears to have been Z axis issues, X/Y current, G41 in the nc file and G91 being sent when jogging the servos. What a combination.

Post Reply