how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Discussion about the arduino based g-code interpreter, grbl
Post Reply
snewoevad
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:05 pm

how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Post by snewoevad » Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:11 pm

OK, before we start, everybody yell NOOOB!!! on 3
ready
1
2
3
NOOOOOOOB!

Ok. I've ready some posts on updating to grbl .9, but they don't answer my questions.

when I goto this page:
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Flash ... an-Arduino
It tells me that, "Go to the Compiling Grbl wiki page for instructions on how compile and upload Grbl onto your Arduino simply through the Arduino IDE interface." which sends me to this page:
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Compiling-Grbl
when I look at this page, it tells me, "You can't directly flash a pre-compiled .hex file through the IDE interface. See our Flashing Grbl to an Arduino wiki page how to do this if you only have a .hex file." which sends me to: wait for it... the first page I was at!!!!

I know this is a funny joke to play on noobs, like when in the Airforce, we would send the Noobs to go get the keys to the aircraft from the shop across the way. They would send them to another shop, who would send them to another shop, who would send them to another shop.... funny right, because there are no keys to the aircraft....

seriously...
when I'm on this page:
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/blob/master/README.md
I get a link to this page:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/grbl/ ... or_SO2.hex

because of the .hex at the end of the address, I'm guessing this is a hex file. one of the earlier pages talks about two different types of hex files. one can go on the arduino, one can't. I have no idea which this is, or even if this is related to the direction I should go.

If there was a step by step instruction manual that would be great, but I haven't found one that assumes I don't know much. I'm not stupid, just ignorant. If anyone could help me, I'd be appreciative.

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Post by cvoinescu » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:23 pm

I know it looks a bit like a joke, but read more carefully. One page gives instructions on how to compile the source and flash the resulting binary using the Arduino IDE. The other page tells you how to flash a downloaded, already compiled binary (.hex file), using a different tool. Both pages mention each other, just in case you were trying to do the other thing.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

snewoevad
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Post by snewoevad » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:37 am

Ack!!!

I went ahead with this page:
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Flash ... an-Arduino

Followed the directions... mostly...
I tried to set the baud to 115200, but when I hit the upload button, it said failed.

I closed Xloader, looked for some more info on the web, didn't find anything, so I tried again only at a baud rate of 57600 which is what comes up automatically.
The bottom of the little xloader window says "uploading..." which is a good thing.... except this page said that it would take about 10 seconds...
about 10 minutes later.... it is still going....

I'm scared to unplug it, because I don't want to brick my arduino. I also don't want to lose the grbl that is on there if the .9 doesn't load.... I hate it when the person gives instructions and they say that it is easy.... well maybe it isn't.

snewoevad
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Post by snewoevad » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:43 am

Ok, I unhooked it, because the tx rx lights weren't flashing.
I still have grbl .8 c on the arduino
now what?

snewoevad
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: how to upgrade from grbl .8 to .9

Post by snewoevad » Fri Jan 23, 2015 4:02 am

OK, so here's what I did...
The first time I opened xloader, it gave me several devices to choose from.
I saw basically arduino and a chip name. I didn't know what chip I have, and I tried to search the web on how to figure that out... I came across the trail of a flying unicorn that poops rainbows, but didn't find anything that told me how to figure out what chip I have. I even did the unthinkable of opening the box that the arduino came in and look at the directions page, but nope, not there either.
On later launches of the xloader program, it only gave me 5 options, and only one of them said uno, so I chose that one. the baud rate went to 115200 and I clicked go.... now is says 28320 bytes loaded. and it looks like .9g is up and running...
I can build my own RAID 5 computer, I can chew gum, whistle, and walk at the same time, but sometimes I need things to just magically happen... sigh.

Post Reply