SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Discussion about the arduino based g-code interpreter, grbl
Post Reply
evel otto
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:57 pm

SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by evel otto » Thu May 07, 2015 1:22 am

I finally got my limit switches setup and grbl upgraded to v0.9. Now, for some reason when I go to $H, it contacts the Z and Y axis to the limit switches just fine but doesn't do the same for the X axis. See the video to see what I'm talking about. It bumps off of the Y limit switch 3 times which makes me think that maybe it's moving the Y axis, thinking that it's the X axis? I can jog the individual axes manually no problem with grbl controller. I'm using the AtomCNC controller if that helps.

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by cvoinescu » Thu May 07, 2015 12:59 pm

Your video is private, we can't see it.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

evel otto
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:57 pm

Re: SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by evel otto » Thu May 07, 2015 1:17 pm

Ah jeeze, sorry about that. :oops: Should be fixed now.

chamnit
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:16 pm
Location: Albuquerque NM, USA
Contact:

Re: SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by chamnit » Thu May 07, 2015 3:56 pm

The operation overall looks correct. The x-axis actually starts to move and stops, and when the homing cycle is finished it does the pull-off motion. This indicates that there is a lot of electrical noise in your x-axis limit pin. Make sure to keep any powered cables away from it and the signal wire.

evel otto
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:57 pm

Re: SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by evel otto » Thu May 07, 2015 3:58 pm

Ok, yes the X axis switch wiring is literally sitting on top of the X axis stepper motor wiring so that very well could be the culprit. I will try relocating the wiring when I get home tonight.
Thanks again!

evel otto
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:57 pm

Re: SO2 Will only home the Z and Y axis. Video inside.

Post by evel otto » Fri May 08, 2015 2:06 am

That was exactly it! All fixed and working now. Thanks again for the help.

Post Reply