GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Discussion about the arduino based g-code interpreter, grbl
Post Reply
gravspeed
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:44 am

GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by gravspeed » Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:05 pm

clearly the power in my house sucks....

i have spent the last week getting comfortable with the controls and drawing things with the sharpie.

last night i mounted my router and this morning i was all prepared to do my first cut (leveling a disposable wasteboard)...

power on the router and my GRBL board reset.
i have to disconnect the software and reconnect so it forgets zero.
abort...

i'm thinking i'm going to have to get a UPS to run the GRBL board from.
there isn't a way to put a battery backup on the board is there?
i'm surprised the DC regulator didn't compensate.

in case you ask, my router power cable takes a separate path than the stepper cabling, they are about 3-4 inches apart at the closest, never parallel. when the x axis is to the far left the power cable comes about 2 inches behind the cover for the GRBL board.

WillAdams
Posts: 8488
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by WillAdams » Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:58 pm

There has been a lot of discussion about this.

Ferrite beads on the router power cable help, as does grounding the laptop and the machine.

See http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... Connection
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

gravspeed
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:44 am

Re: GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by gravspeed » Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:33 am

the router came with a ferrite block on it. although it looks kinda small...

it's next to me humming away now. an extension cord from the next room works fine.

gcode is coming from my desktop.
maybe i should test my wall ground?

Gadgetman!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:44 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by Gadgetman! » Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:25 am

Sometimes it's NOT a ferrite bead on the router cable, but just an RFID tag...
Weird guy...
Shapeoko 2014F: 1000mm X/Y, 300W Quiet Cut spindle, Arduino Uno/G-shield and GRBL 0.9i
15x30 drag chains, custom spindle mount, 9mm belts, 8mm endplates, 6mm motor plates.

gravspeed
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:44 am

Re: GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by gravspeed » Sun Sep 27, 2015 4:46 pm

HA. I thought it seems awfully light for a ferrite.

gravspeed
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:44 am

Re: GRBL resets when i power on my router.

Post by gravspeed » Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:26 am

so in case anyone else stumbles on this thread, it was weak power in my house. at first i ran extension cords from the other bedroom and the bathroom and that worked, so i ran a new dedicated 15 amp and i haven't had a problem since.

Post Reply