Parametric planter box

Share your Shapeoko created projects!

Parametric planter box

Postby paulkaplan » Fri Jun 27, 2014 4:54 pm

I've been making some finger joint boxes recently but have gotten very frustrated with needing to change the design for every different material thickness, etc. So I figured id give parametric design a shot. My first attempt was using the 2d tools in openSCAD but that was way overkill and I still needed to convert from DXF to SVG to cam it. Being a developer I used JavaScript instead, and made up this little GUI if anyone wants to make their own. It saves svg files out of the browser.

http://paulkaplan.me/designs/planter.html

Finished product:
http://imgur.com/GMYwgk8

How do other people deal with having to change their designs when the actual material dimensions change? Naive question, I know.
Last edited by paulkaplan on Fri Jun 27, 2014 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Paul Kaplan — Easel Developer at Inventables
paulkaplan

Re: Parametric planter box

Postby WillAdams » Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:34 pm

I use a drawing program (FreeHand) which makes changes such as that pretty straight-forward.

There are some CAD tools which are described as being parametric listed on the wiki though.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)
WillAdams

Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Postby SmokyRick » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:08 pm

I use a program called ProgeCAD. It is a paid for program but I bought it a few years ago. I do cad at work every day so I have no trouble with it. It is almost the same as Autocad. Changes are part of the life of an engineer. We just have to get used to it. Guess I did.
Smoky Rick Crawford in the middle of Northern Illinois, USA.
ShapeOko2 s/n 5200 all stock. Arduino, gshield, Grbl Controller, Autodesk Fusion 360.
Mods: Quiet cut spindle, grbl v0.9g w/ spindle control enabled.
SmokyRick