S3 Electronics Enclosure

Share your Shapeoko created projects!
edwardrford
Posts: 1250
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Dixon, IL
Contact:

S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by edwardrford » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:53 pm

Today I tried my hand at making an 'enclosed' electronics enclosure for my S3.

I started by cutting the design out of MDF, just to make sure it wasn't totally flawed in some way. After the MDF was done (and iterated once) I cut the design from a piece of 1/2" x 12" x 12" HDPE.
1.jpg
1.jpg (36.4 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (32.47 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
3.jpg
3.jpg (30.19 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
Unfortunately, I couldn't find the right length bolts, so I used some longer ones and then a 'couple' of washers to make it work.
4.jpg
4.jpg (24.46 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
5.jpg
5.jpg (28.49 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
6.jpg
6.jpg (44.7 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
Here's a shot of the whole thing bolted together on my machine. I think it turned out pretty well EXEPT a few things I dont like:
1.) The wall on the top and bottom of the piece is only about 1/8" thick because of that it looks really chattery on the outside from the profile cut, mainly because it was resonating like crazy. This will need to be beefed up a bit to avoid that.

2.) The HDPE was textured on the top and bottom - it made the outside face look nice, but otherwise didn't do well mating two surfaces together, creating some small gaps on the edges.

3.) The holes for the fan are too large for M3 screws, but too thin to use inserts... they're just acting as a passive vent for now.

4.) I didn't use tabs on any of the pieces (trying for a clean edge) and because of that my bit took a big chunk out of one of the corners of the 1st layer when the profile cut came around to the start. Not the end of the world, but I dont' like how it looks.

5.) I should have used a new bit - this one has been *used* and because of that I ended up having to deburr a lot of the edges. Chip clearance was good during the job, but I had a little bit of 're-weld' on the bottom pass of all the layers.

If anyone wants to try the job - let me know and I'll post the file.

-Edward
Attachments
stock_scrap.jpg
stock_scrap.jpg (36.82 KiB) Viewed 2552 times
Shapeoko 1 #0 - a couple of upgrades.
Shapeoko 2 #0 - a couple of upgrades.
Shapeoko 3 #2 - Stock

rodcar125
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:00 pm

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by rodcar125 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:58 pm

I would like to try it (:
Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

madhatter
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:33 am
Location: WA, USA

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by madhatter » Sat Aug 22, 2015 5:07 am

Maybe this would be a good time to use that putty / wax to hold the 1/8 inch wall still while it is being milled.

Edit: Auto correct.

Second edit:
0) Clamp the part normally around the outer edges.
1) Machine a slot in the center of the large piece in the middle.
2) Clamp the piece from the middle.
3) Remove the clamps from the outside edges of the part. The part should still be indexed.
4) Machine the outside edge of the part.
5) Machine the inside profile with tabs. All of the tabs and chattering will be hidden inside.
SO3 #0054
DWP611 - SuperPID
Prusa i3 MkII
SolidWorks 2015

xfredericox
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:46 am

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by xfredericox » Sat Aug 22, 2015 5:53 pm

step one: just use double sided tape.
DONE
Visit my blog for updates on my current SO2/lasercutting/... projects.
http://www.manmademayhem.com

WillAdams
Posts: 8564
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by WillAdams » Sat Aug 22, 2015 6:01 pm

It’s a very cool design. My inclination would be to machine the top and bottom to fit into grooves cut on both sides of the middle (using a flip jig or equiv.)
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Gadgetman!
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:44 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by Gadgetman! » Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:47 pm

Looks nice.

Going to use a 40mm fan?
Most 40mm fans will accept M5 bolts without problems.
Weird guy...
Shapeoko 2014F: 1000mm X/Y, 300W Quiet Cut spindle, Arduino Uno/G-shield and GRBL 0.9i
15x30 drag chains, custom spindle mount, 9mm belts, 8mm endplates, 6mm motor plates.

Fablicator
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:59 pm

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by Fablicator » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:38 am

Looks good!

There really isn't any need for a fan at all, is there?

I made a printed enclosure for mine since and sealed it entirely. I've been machining aluminum with conductive chips everywhere so fully sealed is for the best. No issues at all so far, and everything seemed pretty cool.
IMG_20150912_144823.jpg
IMG_20150912_144823.jpg (71.88 KiB) Viewed 2233 times
IMG_20150912_144608.jpg
IMG_20150912_144608.jpg (25.98 KiB) Viewed 2233 times

veng1
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:09 pm

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by veng1 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:54 pm

This is nice looking but I have a question about it.

If you are milling aluminum, why not turn it upside down so that any falling chips can't enter the wire holes on the top?

Fablicator
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:59 pm

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by Fablicator » Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:13 pm

I didn't think the chips would be flying above the enclosure when I originally designed it. Maybe I'll add some sort of sleeve for the wires to seal it off even better in the next version.

I need to design one with a place to plug in my probe anyway.

twforeman
Posts: 1350
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:51 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: S3 Electronics Enclosure

Post by twforeman » Mon Sep 14, 2015 5:39 pm

I've been thinking about it a bit, and I think that when I start machining aluminum I will probably move the controller board off the machine and relocate it out of the chip zone.

As long as you are milling non-conductive materials having the board on the rail is fine. But once conductive material starts flying around, the board should probably be moved.

It's just a matter of making extension cables for the motors and adding some drag chain or other cable management.
Ender 3 3D Printer
ShapeOko v3 serial #0004 - upgrade thread
All of my ShapeOko related blog posts

Post Reply