Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Discussion of Mach3 CNC control software
nio
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:31 pm

Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by nio » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:43 am

Hi guys,
yesterday arrived a Chinese controller, this one
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hcl50u2sooo4a ... anualV.pdf
but, i followed the steps to configure it (mach3), and of course doesn't work :?

My first problem was, with the Reset button (At the beginning when i clicked in the reset button, the program told me something about "estop button requested"), but i think that problem was solved (Activating the pin "estop" in the input tab).
The second problem is, when i click the reset button on the Mach3, the Z motor makes a strange noise (X and Y motor not do it), but if i try to move the axis via jog interface (when you click TAB in mach3) nothing happens....
I've wired the connectors in the same way i had it in the grblshield, but i'm not sure if that could be the problem...

Anybody could guide me to about what i can look?? i'm a little bit lost...

I think the parallel port is well configured, but i've doubt about enabled pins on the outputs tabs.... If a follow the manual, just enabled1 should be checked...

Some help would be appreciate...

Regards.

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:02 pm

If your motors are not locking when you hit the mach3 reset button then something is wrong.
I would check the motor wiring first because its the easiest.
Then double check all of the settings in mach3. One missed item can cause problems.
I have a slightly different control board so I can't help with the pins and ports.
Did you go to the motor tuning page and set up your steps per, speed, and acceleration?
If your steps per and speed are wrong the motors may not move.
I would go through every setting and take a look at it.
Also I would go though the mach3 setup manual and see if anything in that sheds any light on your setup.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

nio
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by nio » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:14 pm

Hi IC,
Thanks for your help :),
the motors lock when i push the reset button (now i'm trying just with the 3 motors nema17 sparkfun).... i checked the configuration 4 o 5 times, so i think is in the same way of the manual....
The steps per i put 4000 and speed 120, accelaration 10 for each axi....

Is it possible my parallel port is not compatible??, i mean is old IBM laptop T41, and when i test the match paralell port application, always tell me too fast or too slow, but never excellent...

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:24 pm

Oh I might see your problem

my steps per with 16x microstepping is 87.48906387
If your steps per is 4000 that could be your problem.


I have my speed set to 8000 with acceleration of 1000. Those are my maximums so you should start lower and go up from there.
Of course that is all in mm, If you are in inch mode those values should be ok.

Laptops are not recommended for CNC use because of the power management functions.
If I understand it correctly the power management causes timing problems with the parallel port.
You could try turning off all of the power management stuff and only using the laptop when it is plugged in.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

nio
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by nio » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:28 pm

no luck!!!!

I think the problem is my parallel port, can you tell me what's the output you obtain when you execute the parallel port test?? (application tester inside the mach3 folder)

Thanks...

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:49 pm

I get a "System Excellent" rating when I run the parallel port test.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

nio
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by nio » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:09 pm

i think that's my problem....i'm going to investigate some solution, but it doesn't look good...

Thanks mate!!!

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:38 pm

try looking on the Mach3 forums and the CNCzone forums there is lots of parallel port info in both places.
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

nio
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:31 pm

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by nio » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:42 pm

Now my parallel port test works!!!, but i can't move any motor...i'm a little bit frustrated....

Improbable Construct
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 3:21 am
Location: Fairhope, AL
Contact:

Re: Newbie on Mach3 and Chinese controller

Post by Improbable Construct » Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:55 pm

Hmmm.
I am not sure what to tell you at this point.
With out being there and seeing all the settings its hard to know where to look.

Have you checked to make sure you have the correct drivers?
Make sure your parallel port is enabled and set to EPP in bios?

So the motors are locking but not moving is that correct?
Shapeoko #Classified some of the bolts may be original parts.
Shapeoko 1 # ???? Stainless plates, still in the box.
Shapeoko 2 # 3926 not stock
Shapeoko 3 # 0003
Store:
http://ImprobableConstruct.com
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/ImprblConstruct

Post Reply