Why doesn't it work?

Discussion of Mach3 CNC control software
WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by WillAdams » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:12 pm

The OP doesn’t have a valid license (please pursue this matter w/ the person the machine was purchased from).

Why not try Linux CNC? This project started out w/ strong opensource roots.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Georgei
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:22 pm
Location: UK

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by Georgei » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:22 pm

Opss. I missed that one.

Then yes. Give Linux CNC a go.

klaus
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:03 am

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by klaus » Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:59 am

Thank you for advices,
I'll look into Linux CNC and consider to use it. Seems a bit heavy to get started: I'll have to install Ubuntu, CNC program, cam program, connect to the port and hope that the settings will be unchanged. Will I have to tune the system? The controller is Toshiba.
I'm green in CNC and I bought a ready to use machine from a guy that knew how to set it up. It works, but all the software is pirated (also Cam Bam). I asked him about codes and stuff, but he stopped answering my mails.
I learned how to generate g-codes and was getting familiar with mach3, boring to stop at the very first project.

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by WillAdams » Sat Sep 05, 2015 12:19 pm

We do have a fully opensource software stack documented on the wiki — hopefully that will get you running again:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Software
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by cvoinescu » Sat Sep 05, 2015 2:21 pm

You can get a good start without installing anything: boot from a live CD or USB stick, and you're straight in LinuxCNC, without messing with the installed OS on your computer. It's the best way to give LinuxCNC a try without committing to it.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

klaus
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:03 am

Re: Why doesn't it work?

Post by klaus » Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:01 am

Ok, there are many solutions and I will make it work at the end!
I will let you know
PS. I appreciate that a complex thing like cnc-programming is made possible to people with average technical skills like me

Post Reply