Touch plate any good?

Discussion about Tooling and Fixtures. End Mills, Router Bits, Hold Downs, Fixtures, Etc.
Post Reply
woodworkerbob
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:31 pm
Location: SVE - Mesa, AZ

Touch plate any good?

Post by woodworkerbob » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:05 am

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/1619874369 ... noapp=true

This touch plate is listed at $5. That's cheap, but is it any good?

Bob
Shapeoko 3 - #13, dust deputy, precision collets, limit switches.
SVEMakerSpaces

Atonwa
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:54 pm
Location: Corning, NY

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by Atonwa » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:17 am

That's the one I have, works good and the price is right. Took like 2-3 weeks to get here from China. Follow the assembly and how to install from the wiki and Will's write up here:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Touch_Plate_v2

I ordered the connector and the audio jack from Sparkfun so you'll want to get those for a clean install.
Last edited by Atonwa on Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
Shapeoko 3 #109
Routakit HD Beta #001

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by WillAdams » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:18 am

No spring to keep the endmill from being damaged. I need to rig up something for mine.

Maybe worth it for the convenience of the wiring.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

CastIrony
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by CastIrony » Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:05 am

WillAdams wrote:No spring to keep the endmill from being damaged. I need to rig up something for mine.

Maybe worth it for the convenience of the wiring.
I think if you go slow enough, the circuit ends up closing a tiny bit before the bit and the touch plate actually meet.

Of course, if there's some corrosion or something preventing the circuit from closing, the machine will just keep on plunging until you hit the e-stop switch.
Shapeoko 3 #192 - Complete! Needs limit switches.

AnonymousPerson
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: 3753 Cruithne

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by AnonymousPerson » Tue Mar 15, 2016 4:03 pm

Atonwa wrote:... Will's write up here:

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Touch_Plate_v2
Um... just to point out, that was my write up, not Will's.

Will has done pretty much everything else on the wiki though as far as I can tell. :D
Shapeoko 3 #516

WillAdams
Posts: 8608
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by WillAdams » Tue Mar 15, 2016 4:25 pm

Missed the v2 at the end, or I'd've pointed that out --- mine is the far more straight-forward one, one level up. AP's is the elegant one w/ the nice connectors.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Atonwa
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:54 pm
Location: Corning, NY

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by Atonwa » Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:09 pm

AnonymousPerson wrote:Um... just to point out, that was my write up, not Will's.

Will has done pretty much everything else on the wiki though as far as I can tell. :D
I apologize, it's a great write up and I followed it exactly. Even the fancy connectors :D
Shapeoko 3 #109
Routakit HD Beta #001

AnonymousPerson
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: 3753 Cruithne

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by AnonymousPerson » Tue Mar 15, 2016 5:18 pm

Cool, was hoping it would be helpful. :D
Shapeoko 3 #516

JeromyReno
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Touch plate any good?

Post by JeromyReno » Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:32 pm

i have the same one, works great.

Post Reply