Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
tank6035
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by tank6035 » Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:48 pm


@ Edward

If the GT2 pulley mount on a horizontal slot instead of a hole. Will that also make it easier to adjust the z belt tension or/and correct slightly larger belt.
I second this

brorsbror
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 12:07 am

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by brorsbror » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:41 pm

I made a little loop on the belt (as smal as possible) and put a cable zip tie around it. Put it behind the stationary pulley and moved the motor and belt tension pin to the "loosest" setting and it snapped on perfectly. Have only tried with a pen but it looks solid.


H


eefits
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by eefits » Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:41 pm

[quote="brorsbror"]I made a little loop on the belt (as smal as possible) and put a cable zip tie around it. Put it behind the stationary pulley and moved the motor and belt tension pin to the "loosest" setting and it snapped on perfectly. Have only tried with a pen but it looks solid.


H

Actually, if doing it that way we don't really a endless loop belt. We just need any GT2 belt and cut it to length and clamp it at the end and mount it. Then adjust the tension using the tension pin in combination wit the N23 motor slot. Also I don't know the purpose of the pulley. To me it really don't serve any purpose except holding the belt. Can I just use a stand off for that?

[EDIT} On a second thought the Pulley does serve as a safety just in case the tension pin slip. Am I right?
Then if you zip tie the belt or clam it then the teeth might not line up and if the belt slip then you have to reassemble the z.

tdanis
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:32 pm

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by tdanis » Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:37 pm

Has anyone heard when the correct belts will ship?
I do like the 3D printed fix, may have to go ahead and give that a shot!

zymurgy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 5:19 pm

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by zymurgy » Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:57 am

tdanis wrote:Has anyone heard when the correct belts will ship?
I do like the 3D printed fix, may have to go ahead and give that a shot!
I just got notification that my new belt was shipped today.

tank6035
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:05 pm

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by tank6035 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:12 am

zymurgy wrote:
tdanis wrote:Has anyone heard when the correct belts will ship?
I do like the 3D printed fix, may have to go ahead and give that a shot!
I just got notification that my new belt was shipped today.

Me too. To bad I am out of town all next week. :(

kristenanne77
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by kristenanne77 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:07 pm

tank6035 wrote:
zymurgy wrote:
tdanis wrote:Has anyone heard when the correct belts will ship?
I do like the 3D printed fix, may have to go ahead and give that a shot!
I just got notification that my new belt was shipped today.

Me too. To bad I am out of town all next week. :(

I received notification as well. Should be here on Monday.
It was sent USPS which means it should arrive in my mailbox. :D

michaelrommel
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:53 am

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by michaelrommel » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:31 pm

Hi,

I also got a belt that could not be tightened enough. I decided to fix it differently and at the same time get the belt running in one plane.
  • drilled another 5.5mm hole, just above the old mounting hole for the fixed pulley. By that, the variable fixing bolt gets more tightening room.
  • flipped the fixed bolt around and trimmed down the rim on the lathe, where it used to catch on the vertical rails.
  • drilled out a groove on the bottom to insert a lock washer without extending the overall height as it would conflict with the screw heads on the other plate.
Shapeoko-0003-00668-Edit.jpg
Shapeoko-0003-00668-Edit.jpg (232.11 KiB) Viewed 1908 times
Now I could tighten the belt and can confirm, that it now runs in an even plane across all pulleys.
Shapeoko-0007-00672.jpg
Shapeoko-0007-00672.jpg (345.66 KiB) Viewed 1908 times
Maybe that is of help for someone.

Michael.

--
Michael Rommel, Erlangen, Germany

kristenanne77
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by kristenanne77 » Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:38 am

Finally received new belt (the 520). It fits more snug .... now .... where was I ?

K
Attachments
20150615_192330.jpg
20150615_192330.jpg (132.77 KiB) Viewed 1864 times

adamluna
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:29 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Z axis Belt - Tension (am I doing this right?)

Post by adamluna » Sun Jun 21, 2015 1:44 am

Is anyone else having the same issue where I received the wrong stationary GT2 pulley? Appears to be larger about 17.5mm.

And makes my Z axis hit a screw and won't slide all the way up.

Picture attached. Should I contact carbide to get the right one? The diameter doesn't fit anywhere else but for the M5 screw

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Adam
Shapeoko 3 w/DPW 611 #243
WIN7 64bit - Trying to figure it out a Workflow

Post Reply