Is my Z axis inverted?

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
derbytimer
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by derbytimer » Mon May 25, 2015 8:09 pm

Needed $3=2

Thank you. Cutting first proper test cut now...

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by cvoinescu » Mon May 25, 2015 8:18 pm

That makes sense.

Will, please make sure that, for GRBL 0.9, the Wiki says that the X axis is 1, Y is 2, and Z is 4. The 32, 64 and 128 numbers are for GRBL 0.8. (The technically correct statement is that in GRBL 0.8, the bits corresponded to the port pins, so if you had the default pin assignment, 32 would invert bit 5, that is, pin D5, which was X_DIR; in GRBL 0.9, bit 0 is always the X axis regardless of pin assignment, bit 1 is Y, and bit 2 is Z.)
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

derbytimer
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by derbytimer » Mon May 25, 2015 8:35 pm

I used the chart to figure out the correct value. Started out as a 6. To flip the Z, without impacting X or Y, it needed to be a 2.

Code: Select all

Value	Mask		X Y Z
0	00000000  	 N N N
1	00000001  	 Y N N
2	00000010  	 N Y N
3	00000011  	 Y Y N
4	00000100  	 N N Y
5	00000101  	 Y N Y
6	00000110  	 N Y Y
7	00000111  	 Y Y Y
Chart:
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Configuring-Grbl-v0.9

While numbers above 7 may work, looks like 0-7 should be used, referencing that chart.

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by cvoinescu » Mon May 25, 2015 9:02 pm

That's correct, of course, but our wiki has the wrong information about GRBL 0.9.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

WillAdams
Posts: 8564
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by WillAdams » Mon May 25, 2015 9:39 pm

Hopefully fixed enough now.

In our defense, the top of the page had:
This page is intended as a convenient reference for Shapeoko users, but has grown somewhat organically, containing those things which have been specifically brought up on the forums or added in here. In any case of doubt please consult the Grbl documentation.
in addition to a link to the main Grbl docs.

I knew I was going to regret not finding the time to thoroughly re-tool that page to match Grbl 0.9.

My apologies to everyone for any inconvenience which this may have caused.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

derbytimer
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by derbytimer » Tue May 26, 2015 12:56 am

As reference for others...my fix.

Connect to the S3 with TeraTerm 115200 baud 8N1.

send it:

Code: Select all

$$
[settings are displayed]

send it:

Code: Select all

$3=2
[it responds "ok"]

send it [to verify settings]:

Code: Select all

$$

WillAdams
Posts: 8564
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 1:22 am

Okay, that's really weird. Guess there must be a run of motors w/ reversed wiring or something.

Glad it's working.

Please let Carbide3D know that you had to do this so that they can address the underlying problem.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

derbytimer
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Is my Z axis inverted?

Post by derbytimer » Tue May 26, 2015 2:54 am

Thank you Will. I appreciate the dedication you put into this.

Carbide has been notified.

S3 #102 is now alive, and has successfully milled a test part. Awesome machine.

Post Reply