Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor?

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
Post Reply
kristenanne77
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:34 am

Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor?

Post by kristenanne77 » Tue May 26, 2015 6:55 pm

I use Vectric software and I have a post processor (which produce the gcode) for my ShapeOko 2.

Has anyone used a Vectric product with their ShapeOko 3 yet?
If so, what post processor did you use?

thanks
K

WillAdams
Posts: 8489
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by WillAdams » Tue May 26, 2015 7:02 pm

Since both the Shapeoko 2 and 3 use Grbl, the same post processor will work for both.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Markspens
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:45 am

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by Markspens » Tue May 26, 2015 8:19 pm

I just started using Cut2d this weekend. I used the 'g-code (inch) (*.tap)' post processor. The thing I did have to do (thanks to Edward for telling me this) was to put the code G20 at the beginning for inches.

kristenanne77
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by kristenanne77 » Wed May 27, 2015 12:50 am

Markspens wrote:I just started using Cut2d this weekend. I used the 'g-code (inch) (*.tap)' post processor. The thing I did have to do (thanks to Edward for telling me this) was to put the code G20 at the beginning for inches.
You might want to try these post processors I use with ShapeOko 2. Attached File
Its a zip file that has both inch and mm postprocessors for windoz.
(Also has some mac files but I have never tried them.)
Attachments
Shapeoko_PostP for Cut2d.zip
(3.09 KiB) Downloaded 52 times

woodworkerbob
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:31 pm
Location: SVEMakerSpaces - Mesa, AZ

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by woodworkerbob » Wed May 27, 2015 4:47 am

kristenanne77 wrote:I use Vectric software and I have a post processor (which produce the gcode) for my ShapeOko 2.

Has anyone used a Vectric product with their ShapeOko 3 yet?
If so, what post processor did you use?

thanks
K
I have written one for my SO3, but have not had a chance to test it. Once I get my SO3 assembled, the post processor will be the first thing I test. I will then post the post processor.

Bob
Shapeoko 3 - #13, dust deputy, precision collets, limit switches.
SVEMakerSpaces

LTEPM
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:34 am
Location: no where near the end of the rainbow

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by LTEPM » Wed May 27, 2015 12:25 pm

The post processor @dws provided works great with VCarve. I presume it will work with other Vectric products.

http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 173#p47729

kristenanne77
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by kristenanne77 » Wed May 27, 2015 2:27 pm

Don't forget, if you are testing out a new post processor , do an "air mill" first and see if it looks like its following the path you want it to do.
Of course no guarantees on accuracy until you do an actual mill on wood (or whatever), but its a good start (and possibly prevents wasting a piece of wood).

K

edh
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:02 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Anyone use S3 with Vectric software? What Post Processor

Post by edh » Wed May 27, 2015 10:42 pm

I've been using the Grbl processor (2D desktop) since I thought that was what the Carbide controller expected.

Can someone explain the advantage of using another post-processor (such as the one attached in this thread). Is it better optimized for Carbide vs the generic Grbl?

Thanks!

Post Reply