Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
Winanszero
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:56 pm

Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by Winanszero » Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:51 am

Couldn't screw in my controller board to the gantry, so I'm going to have to glue it instead. Anyone else having issues with the screws are not the right size for the holes drilled/tapped for mounting the controller board? I can see that there are threads in the holes, but the screws just aren't fitting.

Bought my machine on 3/19 and delivered last Friday.


Bill

WillAdams
Posts: 8628
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by WillAdams » Wed Aug 05, 2015 10:51 am

It’s more likely that the holes aren’t fully tapped (they begin in to thread, but won’t go all the way in), or the bolts are the wrong sort (Imperial).

Take the bolts to a hardware store, verify the thread, if they’re correct, buy correct replacements, if not, buy a tap and finish the tapping.

Or, contact Carbide3D and they’ll set things right.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

sjj47
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:40 pm

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by sjj47 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:39 pm

I had the same problem (and started a thread). Tapped holes in gantry, nothing in the kit fits. Eventually tapped it for 1/4-28 bolts. But irritating, yeah.
--------------------------------
Shapeoko 3 # 0761 - DW611 - Limit switches - probe
Current tool chains: Inkscape > MakerCAM > UGS | bCNC & F-Engrave > UGS | bCNC

AnonymousPerson
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: 3753 Cruithne

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by AnonymousPerson » Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:56 pm

Sounds like a bad batch of tapped gantry rails recently. :(
Shapeoko 3 #516

DigitalDaze
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 4:54 am
Location: Houston-ish, TX

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by DigitalDaze » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:56 pm

Yesterday, I got to the point of mounting the controller and i'm finding that I have the same issue (I think).

The left upper hole to mount the controller is too big, the screw just slid right in and while I can turn it, that's all it does is spin, it never seems to catch or get tighter. The right screw does tighten, but seems loose so I haven't put much pressure into tightening it.

sjj47
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:40 pm

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by sjj47 » Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:33 am

Yes, it sounds like there has been a recent problem with the tapped holes in the gantry. I'm not sure how we are supposed to 'officially' inform Edward.
--------------------------------
Shapeoko 3 # 0761 - DW611 - Limit switches - probe
Current tool chains: Inkscape > MakerCAM > UGS | bCNC & F-Engrave > UGS | bCNC

WillAdams
Posts: 8628
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by WillAdams » Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:40 am

Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

doogs82
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:01 am

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by doogs82 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 12:18 am

I've got the same issue with my S03 sn 0609, looks like the tap has barely cut into the holes meaning the m6x12 screws won't bite. I'm going to fix mine with double sided tape until a proper fix has been sorted. I contacted support a few days ago, but no response yet.

crstophr
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 11:32 pm

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by crstophr » Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:04 pm

Same problem here. That rail also had a large chip in the aluminum which I don't "think" will interfere with a v wheels....

AnonymousPerson
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:16 pm
Location: 3753 Cruithne

Re: Controller holes tapped at wrong size

Post by AnonymousPerson » Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:08 pm

crstophr wrote:Same problem here.
Out of curiosity, which S3 number do you have? (Mine is #516, mine doesn't have this problem)

It seems like there was a bad batch not long ago, so it could be useful figuring out the number range affected.
Shapeoko 3 #516

Post Reply