Spindle wont go up anymore at beginning of job

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
Post Reply
jfboyd
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:12 pm

Spindle wont go up anymore at beginning of job

Post by jfboyd » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:29 am

Any idea why my spindle wont go up at the beginning of a job to clear the stock surface? It just go straight from zero to beginning of the job. If surface is not 100% levelled, it will scratch it.

I just changed my board for the new one to fix the disconnect issue. I thought it would fix this too, but it's still doing it. Im creating my Gcode with Create.

Thanks for your help!

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: Spindle wont go up anymore at beginning of job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:54 pm

Zero the Z and jog it up a few mm before running the job,it still knows where zero is. Unless you define a retract height and code for it,it will just run from where you left it.

_Us3rnam3
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Spindle wont go up anymore at beginning of job

Post by _Us3rnam3 » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:54 pm

I had the same issue. It would drag the end mill through the stock.

The retract height has been zeroed out. Just specify a retract height in Motion and/or Create to rectify.

Post Reply