New z axis plate

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
Gamble
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:12 am

New z axis plate

Post by Gamble » Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:27 pm

Anyone try this yet? Looks like it bolts to the existing plate but I can't picture in my head how that will work since the flex is at the bottom
https://shop.carbide3d.com/products/sha ... 4357348678
CNC Plasma Table
Tig, Mig Welders
Shapeoko3

CastIrony
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New z axis plate

Post by CastIrony » Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:36 pm

I just ordered one, was planning on rebuilding my Z axis anyway.

I'm pretty sure it replaces the front plate rather than attaching to it.
Shapeoko 3 #192 - Complete! Needs limit switches.

Gamble
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:12 am

Re: New z axis plate

Post by Gamble » Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:34 pm

CastIrony wrote:I just ordered one, was planning on rebuilding my Z axis anyway.

I'm pretty sure it replaces the front plate rather than attaching to it.
I thought the same thing but look at 2:15 in this video and it's on top of the other.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGH0Yv_BBUc

Post some pics and review when you get yours
CNC Plasma Table
Tig, Mig Welders
Shapeoko3

swhillier
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:47 pm

Re: New z axis plate

Post by swhillier » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:01 pm

Looks like a direct replacement of the old plate based on this:

http://carbide3d.com/files/s3plateupgrade.pdf

CastIrony
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New z axis plate

Post by CastIrony » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:40 pm

Gamble wrote:
CastIrony wrote:I just ordered one, was planning on rebuilding my Z axis anyway.

I'm pretty sure it replaces the front plate rather than attaching to it.
I thought the same thing but look at 2:15 in this video and it's on top of the other.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGH0Yv_BBUc

Post some pics and review when you get yours
The X/Z carriage is made up of two plates, a (vertically) stationary back X plate that has the Z rails attached, and a moving front Z plate that rides along those rails.

The new Z plate replaces the old Z plate, but the back X plate remains exactly the same. It reduces flex by having stronger curved sides, and being vertically shorter for less leverage.
Shapeoko 3 #192 - Complete! Needs limit switches.

Bonch
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:23 am

Re: New z axis plate

Post by Bonch » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:05 pm

It is the same plate they are putting on the new Shapeoko XL and XXLs.

LTEPM
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:34 am
Location: no where near the end of the rainbow

Re: New z axis plate

Post by LTEPM » Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:45 am

CastIrony wrote:
The new Z plate replaces the old Z plate, but the back X plate remains exactly the same. It reduces flex by having stronger curved sides, and being vertically shorter for less leverage.
And the spindle bracket positioned between the Z carriage V-wheels.

Gamble
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:12 am

Re: New z axis plate

Post by Gamble » Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:00 pm

I ordered a plate, will let you know how it works out
CNC Plasma Table
Tig, Mig Welders
Shapeoko3

GilchristT
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 10:47 am

Re: New z axis plate

Post by GilchristT » Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:44 pm

Just got a new Shapeoko 3 with this plate included.

Can anyone point me at the drawings for it? I need to make a new adapter for my spindle.

thanks

CastIrony
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:21 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New z axis plate

Post by CastIrony » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:21 pm

Good news, the plate came, and it looks great!
IMG_2591.jpg
IMG_2591.jpg (164.48 KiB) Viewed 1985 times
Bad news, while disassembling the carriage a few days ago in preparation, I noticed that I had accidentally cracked one of the delrin wheels in half by overtightening the Z rails and eccentric nuts.

Since the replacement wheel isn't arriving until Monday, I'll have to put off the reassembly until then. :|
Shapeoko 3 #192 - Complete! Needs limit switches.

Post Reply