Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Assembly questions and answers for the Shapeoko 3 CNC Mill
Post Reply
Jan Goncarov
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:58 am

Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by Jan Goncarov » Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:49 pm

Hello,
I have build the shapeoko 3 via instructions on this site and manual and everything worked well until the last moment.
When i Plug Shapeoko into Electricity and connect it to computer i wanted to start moving the Axis by 1 MM.
All 3 axes are working fine but there is a problem that all of them move by 4 MM instead of 1 Milimeter.
I have double checked screws and belts, but i think that is not a problem.
Im from Europe (Czech republic) and im running the machine in old basement with really old electrical wiring (Aliminium cables for sure).
Could the problem be in Electricity itself ?
My knowladge about electricity is really poor, europe equipment is working fine in old basement , but im talking about laptop and small hi-fi.
The Czech standart is 230V 50Hz but im not sure if this is ok for the Shapeoko (I realized it will not work with the Dewalt )
If this could be the source of problem, what would be the best solution ?
I have found some kind of solution but would this be enough for shapeoko ?
http://www.menice-transformatory-110v.c ... 100W-2-zas
I gues due to 100W it wont be enough for Dewalt so i will have to look for somethig different (or buy Europe type cutter)
Maybe the problem with motors lyes somewhere else i dont know, any ideas ?
Thank you for your future advice and help..
Jan

WillAdams
Posts: 8619
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by WillAdams » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:12 pm

Please check the documentation and your power supply to see if it is auto-switching or has a switch you need to set to match your AC voltage.

Rather than a transformer a locally sourced power supply would likely be more affordable.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

reibuehl
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 11:17 am

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by reibuehl » Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:15 pm

I don't think it is related to the electricity. Your description sounds like you have a wrong setting for the micro stepping of the motor drivers on your controller board. Check the settings of the switches against the description in page 32 of the assembly manual.

Jan Goncarov
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:58 am

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by Jan Goncarov » Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:15 am

Thank you really much for your answers, becouse im really stuck on this issue and want to solve it I have moved the machine upstairs to the appartment.
The situation did not changed so I made a small video to specify the problem..

https://youtu.be/ZJeq18o1kH8

After seeing this could you tell what should be the solution ?

Regards Jan

WillAdams
Posts: 8619
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by WillAdams » Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:53 am

How much the machine moves is governed by several things:

- pulley diameter and number of teeth
- belt steps per mm
- microstepping of the stepper drivers --- early boards had switches for this http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... P_switches
- number of steps / mm setting in Grbl

See http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... figuration

Power supply should be invariant --- see http://docs.carbide3d.com/article/161-w ... -220-volts

I suspect you have a board w/ Nomad defaults see http://docs.carbide3d.com/article/38-sh ... l-settings and http://carbide3d.com/docs/reflashing-the-nomad-883/ and http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Grbl and https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

Jan Goncarov
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:58 am

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by Jan Goncarov » Tue Nov 01, 2016 12:00 pm

Thnx i will look at it tommorow after work and see

Jan Goncarov
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:58 am

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by Jan Goncarov » Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:44 pm

OK so I had looked at the problem once more. I have put aside the electricy issue (since i took the machine upstairs from basement, and also due to closer inspection of adapter as you said) . Therefore as suggested i looked onto the software side.
The settings in the software were (after checking) Shapeoko Original settings, so that was not a problem. I was again on the same spot as before.
Today I took my Girlfriends Macbook and downloaded Carbide Motion for Mac.. when i have tried it, it resulted in much different motor movement in a positive way and I am mostly satisfied ohw the thing moves now, so the issue is hidden somewhere in version of software I used on my Windows laptop. Now i will try to draw something with pencil and hopefully it wil start work. Thank you so much for your help guys

Jan Goncarov
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:58 am

Re: Shapeoko 3 - problems with calibration

Post by Jan Goncarov » Fri Nov 04, 2016 2:35 pm

I had installed newest vesion of software onto my Windows laptop and suddenly all problems are gone and machine is functionig properly Hooray.

Post Reply