Page 1 of 2

New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:42 pm
by DevinTX
I purchased the TB5660_T4_V5 4 axis controller off ebay and I'm testing it on a spare nema17 motor Automatiomdirect SureStep 1/8 step using the Mach3 that came with the controller. I tried setting the ports as described in the manual and nothing happens. I tried adjusting the pins that I found on a post here in the forum...still nothing.

I searched the net and found a post at CNCZone. It said something about output voltage should be 5v or at least close on several pins. I checked and some pins are there but other pins are at 3.3v

I have gotten to a point where I am more confused than when I started.

Any ideas

Thanks

Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:11 am
by Improbable Construct
Is your parallel port on the motherboard or are you using a PCI card? if its a PCI card skip the next step.
Check your bios and make sure it is enabled and set to ECP only.
Check your device manager and make sure there are no problems and check the port address.
Make sure Mach3 is looking for the port in the correct place: http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index. ... ic=14910.0
If that doesn't get you going I can make some more suggestions.

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 2:22 am
by DevinTX
Thanks for the quick reply. I reset the Parallel port to the ENHANCED CONTROL PORT (ECP) Still nothing. I followed the direction to the letter from the MFR. Is there any info I can supply to help solve this prob?

Thanks again

Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:57 am
by Improbable Construct
Ok lets see...
If you checked all of the stuff in the first post you did the easy things.
Have you tried running the Mach3 driver test? its in the mach3 folder.
Also make sure you have disabled the charge pump.
I can offer more suggestions in the morning.

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 3:29 pm
by DevinTX
Once again thank you for the speedy reply. When I get home from work I will try the Mach3 Test. I will also figure out what the Charge Pump is

Thanks Again

Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:32 pm
by DevinTX
First and foremost I want to thank you again for giving me a direction. Now let me tell you what I found and did....

1. I found out that Mach3 will not run under any 64bit OS

2. I installed another hard drive and loaded windows7 32bit
(being a computer tech I have access to all sorts of computer hardware and software)

3. I reloaded mach3 and the drivers installed

4. I ran the driver test and the computer I am using seemed to pass...on the excellent bar I was over 50%

These are all the good things

The bad thing is I still can't seem to get the stepper motor to respond to and commands to move
This includes both a test g-code and the keyboard <- ->

When I bring up the diag screen I see the freq., the enable 4 light, and the x-axis movement

any additional ideas

Thanks again

Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:57 am
by Improbable Construct
ok lets try a simple test:
in mach 3 config --> ports & pins -> output signals
enable output 1 port# 1 Pin number 17
enable output 2 port# 1 pin 1
then swap to the spindle setup tab
uncheck the first box (disable spindle relays)
type 2 into both output # boxes
uncheck the second box (disable flood/mist relays)
type 1 into both output# boxes
type 0 into the delay boxes
hit apply and then ok
config --> save settings

Go to the Diagnostics page in mach3
you should see buttons for spindle toggle and flood toggle.
If you are communicating with the board you should be able to see the yellow leds for the relays light up and turn off on the board when you change the state of the button.
If they are not responding then its probably a driver issue or a communication problem with the parallel port.

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:47 am
by DevinTX
You are not going to believe this. I got it working. Thank you for all your help. The only problem is one of my test wires slipped and sparked and that was the end of the x-axis chip. I spotted the melt spot ASAP. So as soon as my order from digikey arrives I will get back with you and begin again LOL

Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:57 pm
by DevinTX
The new controller chip arrived yesterday and today while waiting for the turkeys to fry I replaced the bad x-axis with a new one. I now have a working 4 axis controller and will never again power up the equipment without double checking all the connection.

This is the only clue to the bad controller chip ...other than the snap/pop I heard when it happened

https://www.dropbox.com/s/p2xba4gzk3wlf ... .20.11.jpg

Thank you IC for all you suggestions and help
Devin

Re: New controller going nowhere fast

Posted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:28 pm
by Improbable Construct
I fried my x axis chip when a stray wire from the power touched one of the motor wires.
It was easy to solder a new chip in. Getting the board in and out of the enclosure was the hard part.
Glad you got it working.