Help to choose motors and drivers

Auarhau

Help to choose motors and drivers

Post by Auarhau » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:44 pm

Hi.
I just ordered the shapeoko 2 mechanical kit (and what I could find in stock of what I need to make a complete machine). I have a dremel, and a 24v 12,5A powersupply. So what I need are some motors and a way of controlling them. I have no previous cnc experience by the way, but I have read about it for some time now.

From what I gathered about controllers this is what I'm thinking at the moment (please correct me if I am wrong):

The Ardruino / Gshield option looked nice, but it's not in stock anywhere..
Pros: Can be controlled from a laptop via usb. The shapeoko documentation is written for it, and many users use it.
Cons: If understand correctly it can't be used with mac3 or linux cnc? I would like to keep things simple to begin with, but I'm pretty sure I would like the option to try out all the nice software options out there.

Gecko G450:
This is supposedly the best drivers (at least many prefer these). But they seem overkill for a small bench-top machine with nema 17 motors? Thy are also very expensive. Good documentation and support.

Hobbycnc:
These looked good, except that they wont accept every type of stepper motor. The deal breaker here is that shipping to Norway cost like $70 iirc, which is more then the board itself. I liked the idea of soldering the kit myself, since the instructions looked good.

Various ebay chinaboards:
I'm afraid these will cause me trouble due to low quality control and lack of documentation. Mostly though I dont want to end up with a setup very few, or only me, have. Since this is my first go at CNC I want something that is commonly used (so I can get help) and works easily with popular software like linuxcnc etc. Price is nice though!

Motors: