Adding limit switches... Is this shield ok?

etxbkst

Adding limit switches... Is this shield ok?

Post by etxbkst » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:47 pm

I'm going to add limit switches so I can do tool changes with ease. Will the following shield work for wiring in the switches? http://www.amazon.com/Arduino-Proto-Shi ... ZFKR0837PA
I've researched a few on Amazon and it looks like some that say "stackable" aren't actually stackable. From what I'm reading, this on should be.

My wiring will be based on this post, http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 551#p19953.

cvoinescu

Re: Adding limit switches... Is this shield ok?

Post by cvoinescu » Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:40 pm

That shield looks good to me.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

etxbkst

Post by etxbkst » Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:07 pm

So... probably a stupid question, but since I'm a total noob at this sort of stuff I want to wire it up and test it via a breadboard before soldering anything to the protoshield. That should be as easy as male to female jumpers from Arduino to board to gShield, yes?

cvoinescu

Post by cvoinescu » Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:21 pm

You're thinking to connect the gShield to the Arduino using male-female jumper wires, so that you have access to the Arduino pins you need for the limit switches? I don't see a problem with that. You'll need to connect GND (connect two of them, because bad things can happen if it disconnects), D2 to D8, and IOREF. You probably also need IOREF for the pull-up resistors, so you'll need to split that one on your breadboard.

lordmundi

Post by lordmundi » Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:10 am