Dual Motors of one driver.

forgottenCNC

Dual Motors of one driver.

Post by forgottenCNC » Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:51 am

I was thinking the other day that I really needed to make a dual motor system for my Y axis because the other side was just "floating" to much for my liking, the first thing that came to mind was Fleming's left had rule because I didn't have any additional drives to drive the motor. So I connected the 2nd motor coils in reverse to the motor on the other side and what did you know it ran in the correct directions (in reverse) from just one motor driver.

Here's a quick overview of how to connect things.

From shield >>Motor 1>>Motor 2
RED-----------RED----------BLUE
BLUE----------BLUE--------RED
BLACK--------BLACK------GREEN
GREEN--------GREEN------BLACK

baz

Re: Dual Motors of one driver.

Post by baz » Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:20 pm

That's interesting stuff, thanks. Did you experience any power loss on the motors? (I am no electrician, but I though the current is halved?) I was also impressed by your build, the way you had tucked the cables within the MakerSlide was pretty cool, and your belt clamps are clever as well. Do you mind sharing your experiences with those, do they restrict travel or not? (you have a different belt configuration so that might help)

Many Thanks

Regards

Baz
ShapeOko #676, eShapeOko #11, Hardened MakerSlide, OpenRail, Steel v's, Misumi Extrusion, Kress 800
MakerSlide Europe Store

edwardrford

Post by edwardrford » Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:15 am

forgottenCNC,

Really nice setup you have going there! Looks a lot like how my personal machine is configured :-)

1.) Love the cable through the X axis makerslide. That really cleans up those wires.
2.) Really like the micro wire wrap. Again, really cleans things up.
3.) Thanks for the left hand rule! I have unhooked my dual drives several times and each time had to use trial and error to get it back in sync. I'll remember now, just reverse *ONE* pair :-)