S3 stops mid-job

KAScnc
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:27 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by KAScnc » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:11 pm

aidenwolf wrote:Just wondering KAScnc, reading through your posts, did you try the USB isolator?
That's one thing I haven't tried yet. Three computers with one being a laptop, tried it with and without power.

jfdotcom
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:00 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by jfdotcom » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:16 pm

When mentioning that a new board was sent to you, it'd be helpful to know what version it is. There are three board revisions now (that I'm aware of, probably more though).
S3 #342 07/2015
My website
YouTube Channel

Atonwa
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:54 pm
Location: Corning, NY

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by Atonwa » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:27 pm

jfdotcom wrote:When mentioning that a new board was sent to you, it'd be helpful to know what version it is. There are three board revisions now (that I'm aware of, probably more though).
Mine was the latest V2.3 board version and I originally had V2.1. FYI email went out, larger Shapeoko's on the way finally! Not going to upgrade until I'm sure electrical is solved though at this point.
Shapeoko 3 #109
Routakit HD Beta #001

RoguePirin
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:22 pm
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by RoguePirin » Tue Jan 26, 2016 6:41 pm

There is even a prototype version 2.4, but that is not released as of yet. You can read Carbide 3D's official response to this issue.
Shapeoko 3 #677, Nyloc nuts, ¾" HDPE base with t-nuts, Dewalt 611 w/Super PIDv2

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:59 pm

Bit unsettling for them to outright blame the DeWalt router,I am not using a DeWalt router,Im using a 1.5kw Chinese spindle and getting port disconnects.
I think I need to mail them instead of using 'forum fixes',I think I would urge anyone that does have this issue to mail Carbide so they get a true extent of the problems perhaps?

jfdotcom
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:00 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by jfdotcom » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:15 pm

I don't want to point the finger towards any specific router but I believe it's more a sum of all the parts causing this rather than blaming one specific manufacturer. I would like to see an included package for machine grounding since the only ground the machine is connected to in the factory config is not used on both the PCB and the DWP611.

The Nomad is brushless - has anyone experienced a disconnect using a brushless (or a brushed DC) spindle?
S3 #342 07/2015
My website
YouTube Channel

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by cvoinescu » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:50 pm

FWIW, I used to get disconnects on my 3D printer every time the compressor in the fridge stopped. The bandsaw at the hackspace, and my shop vac interrupted it too. This wasn't even a Carbide Motion board -- the problem is not specific to them.

I agree that a spindle is the most likely source of interference, so it makes perfect sense to blame it. They're not saying the DeWalt is bad; it's just that it's a brushed AC motor, an inherently noisy device. My bet is that there are a much smaller number of cases where the culprit is not the DeWalt spindle -- or not only it. Carbide 3D seem to be on top of that too.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

WillAdams
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by WillAdams » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:49 pm

What are the options for a brushless motored spindle?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

KAScnc
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:27 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by KAScnc » Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:01 am

SparkFun returned the email when I CC'd Carbide. They are sending out a replacement Stepoko.

UltiArjan
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by UltiArjan » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:52 am

cvoinescu wrote:FWIW, I used to get disconnects on my 3D printer every time the compressor in the fridge stopped. The bandsaw at the hackspace, and my shop vac interrupted it too. This wasn't even a Carbide Motion board -- the problem is not specific to them.
I know many people had connection issues with Ultimakers while printing over USB, using the (non-usb) Ulticontroller solved this. It's also the reason Ultimaker officially does not support printing over USB on there Ultimaker2 machines. If there would be a controller available for the SO3 i would buy it for sure...
-------------------------------------------------
Shapeoko3 #1331, Makita RT0700
Ultimaker2, Ultimaker2+E3Dv6 (abs only)

Post Reply