S3 stops mid-job

KAScnc
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:27 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by KAScnc » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:58 am

I have no experience with CNC before getting a Shapeoko. I was honestly expecting it to work somewhat like a 3D printer where I can just copy the gcode to a SD card and run it directly from the controller.

I do have an extra smoothieboard that i might try if my replacement Stepoko controller doesn't fix the disconnecting issue.

TomDChi
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:36 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by TomDChi » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:21 pm

One small data point: I plugged my DeWalt DW611 into a Tripp Lite Isobar surge protector/filter, and with my macbook unplugged, I have been able to turn the router on and off several times during a job without a disconnect. I need to make time to try some air cuts with the laptop plugged in and with the desktop computer (both of which gave me quick disconnects while running jobs without the filter/surge protector) to see if that "fixes" the disconnects, or only reduces them.

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:54 pm

I have ordered some caps for the 24v,does anyone know exactly where they go in the line?

apspurgeon
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:18 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by apspurgeon » Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:40 am

2016-01-30 18.13.502.jpg
2016-01-30 18.13.502.jpg (261.89 KiB) Viewed 491 times
Hi there, there is a 24v line on the board. I installed a pair of pins for this (did at same time while adding pins for end stop switches). I just used some silicon sealant to hold it in place. Later oscilloscope probing showed this 0.5v noise was completely eliminated, and I've not had a failure yet (still crossing fingers)

Pic attached is looking down on board while installed in SO3 on RHS

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:20 am

Ah,these are the unpopulated pads on the 2.2 board?

So im just populating the last 2 pads marked power with the cap?

I bought a 1000µF at 25v and at 50v,im assuming these are acceptable as they are above the 24v input or do I need to overprovision?

Sorry for the questions but the dumbest one is the one not asked. :lol:


EDIT: Can anyone at Carbide 3d comment on this fix?

cvoinescu
Posts: 4442
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:50 pm
Location: Camberley, UK
Contact:

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by cvoinescu » Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:35 pm

I'd recommend against the 25 V capacitor. Sure, it's above 24 V, but you're not limited by space, so go with at least 35 V. 50 V is great.
Proud owner of ShapeOko #709, eShapeOko #0, and of store.amberspyglass.co.uk

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:49 pm

cvoinescu wrote:I'd recommend against the 25 V capacitor. Sure, it's above 24 V, but you're not limited by space, so go with at least 35 V. 50 V is great.
Good stuff,I got the 25v as it was 'noise reducing' specific...and cost peanuts.

The cuts it has done have outstanding and have impressed me so far,hopefully this mod will let me finish a job! Alu bed arrives Weds so I'm very keen to have everything ready for then.

apspurgeon
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 9:18 am

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by apspurgeon » Sun Jan 31, 2016 7:50 pm

The capacitor would ideally be over 25v (e.g 60v) but it should be ok. You'll know if you hear a pop :o)

Would be very interested in results of others who have been having problems, and if the capacitor helps. We should feed this info back to Edward.
The oscilloscope results are the most empirical evidence of the so far. All the other 'fixes' are educated guesses based on good reason...but harder to prove

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Sun Jan 31, 2016 9:44 pm

apspurgeon wrote:The capacitor would ideally be over 25v (e.g 60v) but it should be ok. You'll know if you hear a pop :o)

Would be very interested in results of others who have been having problems, and if the capacitor helps. We should feed this info back to Edward.
The oscilloscope results are the most empirical evidence of the so far. All the other 'fixes' are educated guesses based on good reason...but harder to prove

Im a custom PC builder with a penchant for overclocking,I have blown up a few VRM's and that smell is hard to get rid of.....
I will use the 50v one and see how that goes,had spotty luck with the rest of the fixes so far. I will mount the cap and take all the other 'fixes' off then build up from that,hopefully we/I will have definite fail points to look at.

B NEGATIVE
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: S3 stops mid-job

Post by B NEGATIVE » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:44 pm

Last gasp from me....

My board is not the same as the one pictured,I have the points but they are not labelled as yours are. Im wondering if are the same pin out?

Post Reply