Groguards Build Log

groguard

Groguards Build Log

Post by groguard » Sat Apr 05, 2014 6:19 am

Hello everyone. Im a little late at putting this up, but I figure since Im going to be doing lots of upgrades I figured I would share what I have come up with. I have only found a few posts on building such a machine I have decided to build, so I figured people looking at doing such upgrades could use some of my ideas if they want. I was also looking for some input on the upgrades and how I set it up. I would also like to note that I'm completely new to the cnc world. I have a friend that is really into 3d printers, so he was able to answer most of my questions, as most of the mechanics of a cnc and 3d printer are similar. I have plans to make this machine 1mx1m. I currently have almost everything ordered to make this happen. Im just waiting on the parts to arrive, and I will be showing and sharing how I have it planned out.
Another side note, I ordered a z axis upgrade from IC, and the first rod I received was pretty bend. I emailed about it and he responded back quickly (even tho he was out of town for the weekend). He shipped out a new one very quickly. I just wanted to mention what great customer service. Thanks again IC!

Alright so right now I have a almost stock machine. The only current upgrades that are installed are the Z axis upgrade, and the DW660.
Here is a few pics of assembly. I have to say, the instructions were very good. There was only a couple parts I had to do a little research on, but for the most part it was smooth sailing.

Some general assembly here

Getting the gantry together

I kind of skipped a few pics of some the steps, I was getting anxious to get it together haha.
Here is the frame coming together with the gantry installed.

Here is my hello world test run, after a couple tries It got it perfect. Most of my issue was just getting the pen secure.