OsX Workflow Help for a "Non-Technical" Designer

romanograph

OsX Workflow Help for a "Non-Technical" Designer

Post by romanograph » Thu Mar 28, 2013 8:45 pm

First off, thanks to everyone here for sharing their expertise. I'm stoked to get this thing going.

I've built my Shapeoko and have been able to send some commands via Universal G-Code Sender, so I know my rig is working on a very basic level, but I have a ton of holes in my knowledge, and most of the resources I'm finding are for users who are comfortable with using the Terminal, understand how to hack code, etc. I'm a designer, and this project is my first foray into the open-source world, and the whole community seems really helpful, but I just can't seem to wrap my "visually oriented" mind around how to get my Shapeoko calibrated and running jobs.

I'm running OsX 10.7.5, and I believe my Shapeoko is a 5th gen model (shipped in early January 2013).

After trying to install PyCam via this post, I couldn't get it to launch (and didn't really understand what I was doing anyway). Then I found MakerCAM, which got me closer (thanks to the step-by-step instructions), but my spindle (or pencil, in this case) kept getting broken as I tried to plot some simple imagery on paper. I can generate the geometry I need (the CAD part), since I am proficient in software like Adobe Illustrator and Cinema 4D, but everything between that and the tip of my Shapeoko spindle is a bit of a mystery. I guess what I really need to do is run some simple tests to ensure that things are set up right and calibrated properly. Are there any designers out there who have made the leap? Any hackers who can help me tackle this "visually"?