Octoprint for CNC / Grbl

PxT

Octoprint for CNC / Grbl

Post by PxT » Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:40 am

I'm new to CNC & Shapeoko, having just got my kit recently and assembled it over the weekend. I have spent quite a bit of time in the 3D printer world so most of this is at least somewhat familiar.

I was a bit surprised to see that nobody has really made any mention of trying to use Octoprint with Grbl or the Shapeoko. If you're not familiar, it's a nice little web GUI meant for 3D printers that allows you to control the machine remotely using just a web browser. It essentially takes the place of your host software (Repetier or Printrun in the FDM world, GCodeSender in the CNC world) and is often setup to run on a Raspberry Pi board so that you don't need a large dedicated sending host.

Octoprint doesn't work out of the box with Grbl because it expects to send and receive slightly different status commands than those that Grbl uses. Not to be deterred I have made a fork of the source code and put together a preliminary version that works with the Shapeoko: https://github.com/PxT/OctoPrint

The Temperature panel doesn't make much sense in this context, but the Control and Terminal panels work great in my testing with the Shapeoko and I was able to load and send the Hello World example gcode with only minor issues.

I'm pretty new to Octoprint itself so there are certainly bugs but I'd be happy to hear of any success (or failures!) you guys might have with this.

bjbsquared

Re: Octoprint for CNC / Grbl

Post by bjbsquared » Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:02 am

This or something like this is on my to do list. I'm not a software/system admin type. I tread water with python so something like this seems like a big time sync if it didn't work the first time. But, I am headed in that direction.

I've been looking at the raspberry pie AlaMode but haven't committed to anything yet.