G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post Reply
CorvusCroax
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 9:53 pm

G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by CorvusCroax » Fri May 16, 2014 11:03 pm

On our otherwise stock Shapeoko2, we just finished adding a bunch of upgrades (inventables workholding wasteboard, dust shoe and overhead dust collection system, Dewalt 660), and fixed some wiring issues (wires getting stressed and then pulled out). Did some non-cutting dry runs just moving the gantry around; set a new Zero, everything looked fine ... and then something strange happens:

On the G-code sender, when we tell it to return to the new Zero, the X and Y axes go to 0,0 respectively. The Z axis, though, seems to want to go to +infinity. It just goes straight up and bonks into it's upper limit.

What is odd is that the G-code sender KNOWS that it is at 0,0,150+. It says that is the position. We hit return to zero, it starts going to 0,0,+infinity, until we stop it.

Because we were just messing with the wiring, I would have thought it some kind of wiring issue. But moving the Z axis around seems otherwise fine, as far as we can tell. It's just the return to zero. Grr...

Any advice much appreciated!

WillAdams
Posts: 8527
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by WillAdams » Fri May 16, 2014 11:59 pm

What command are you using?

If the machine's position is set impossibly high, why not re-set the zero?
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Woodworker
Posts: 639
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:37 am
Location: 5 miles north of Benson, NC

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by Woodworker » Sat May 17, 2014 12:20 am

This sounds a lot like the problem some of us are having after running the "hello world" GCODE. In that case the x,y don't move but the z goes to infinity.
BRuce - SO2 #4798 - IC's Z axis upgrade, customized Z rail and Z motor mount, spindle Dewalt 611

CorvusCroax
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 9:53 pm

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by CorvusCroax » Sat May 17, 2014 12:33 am

WillAdams wrote:What command are you using?

If the machine's position is set impossibly high, why not re-set the zero?
Hi WillAdams,
It is doing this AFTER we re-set the zero. When the machine is instructed to the NEW zero, it instead goes to 0,0,+infinity

CorvusCroax
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 9:53 pm

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by CorvusCroax » Sat May 17, 2014 12:34 am

Woodworker wrote:This sounds a lot like the problem some of us are having after running the "hello world" GCODE. In that case the x,y don't move but the z goes to infinity.
Hmm... is there a fix for that?

We did run the "Hello World" .nc file months ago.... but have had several otherwise OK runs after that.

WillAdams
Posts: 8527
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by WillAdams » Sat May 17, 2014 12:35 am

In that case, anyone who is having a problem should re-download the file --- it's been fixed now to re-set the coordinate system and return to zero --- if you still have troubles w/ the new file post here and we'll try to puzzle out what the issue is.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Woodworker
Posts: 639
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:37 am
Location: 5 miles north of Benson, NC

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by Woodworker » Sat May 17, 2014 12:38 am

I will download updated file tomorrow and run a test. I will post here and in the other thread.
BRuce - SO2 #4798 - IC's Z axis upgrade, customized Z rail and Z motor mount, spindle Dewalt 611

Will Winder
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Hudson, MA
Contact:

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by Will Winder » Thu May 22, 2014 7:54 pm

UGS raises the tool head before going to 0,0,0 in case the mill was left buried in the work or close to the surface. The amount raised is hard coded, and as you've noticed the hard coded value is far too large after a file sets the Grbl units to inche mode.
ShapeOko #367: Dual-Y drive, Belt on outside, 1000mm Y-Axis, DW660 Spindle, Nema-23 X/Y motors.

Primary developer on Universal Gcode Sender.

Woodworker
Posts: 639
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:37 am
Location: 5 miles north of Benson, NC

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by Woodworker » Thu May 22, 2014 8:55 pm

So then this is a bug, in that it doesn't look at the units variable before using a hard coded value. Is there a big tracker for GRBL ?
BRuce - SO2 #4798 - IC's Z axis upgrade, customized Z rail and Z motor mount, spindle Dewalt 611

glendresser
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:45 am

Re: G-code sender Sends Zero to X 0,0,150+ ... not 0,0,0

Post by glendresser » Tue May 27, 2014 6:11 pm

How are you setting a new zero? Are you using the button in UGS? Are you sending a G92 x0y0z0? G10 L20 P1 x0y0z0? If you haven't tried it yet, try using a G10 command to zero your G54 coordinates, set G54 as your active coordinate system, and then go to x0y0z0 again. I had an issue on mine with a newer version of grbl (0.9d) where my x-axis was zeroing in the wrong direction unless I was within one of the G54-59 coordinate systems.

Post Reply