Illustrator ro ESTLCAM

markoutram

Illustrator ro ESTLCAM

Post by markoutram » Sat May 16, 2015 4:13 pm

I am new to CNC so apoligies if I have made a silly mistake.

I have drawn a simply 100mm square in Illustrator and I am running a demo version of ESTLCAM. When I open the .svg file in ESTLCAM it is a little over 3.5 times larger than I expected it to be in both directions.

Has anyone else come across this issue, or any ideas how to stop it?

Thanks in advance.

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Re: Illustrator ro ESTLCAM

Post by WillAdams » Sat May 16, 2015 4:38 pm

Scaling of SVG files is a known problem / issue. Bit of discussion of it on the MakerCAM page.

Easiest thing to do is make a 1 inch square and do the math on how much to scale before import / export.
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

markoutram

Post by markoutram » Sun May 17, 2015 8:51 am

Thanks, I'll take a look. I have a working solution that involves going via Inkscape and saving as a .dxf but it is not elegant!

aam

Post by aam » Sun May 17, 2015 9:40 am

Illustrator can also export .dxf-files!
Use File -> Export instead of Save as.

WillAdams

Post by WillAdams » Sun May 17, 2015 2:07 pm

The problem is widely-supported DXFs are often lines only, no arc / curve support. Wrote up a brief note on the wiki on the CAM page:

Notes on file formats:

* dxf --- AutoCAD’s drawing exchange format. Older versions are limited to only straight lines, files are either in Imperial or metric mode
* stl --- stereo lithography triangle mesh. Often used for 3D printing stl is a general-purpose triangle mesh which may be processed by many CAM programs