Fusion 360 CAM help

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by etxbkst » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:02 pm

Hi! I'm hoping some other Fusion 360 users can help me out here. I've designed a model in Fusion, and I can't seem to figure out how to create the correct toolpaths in the CAM section. I want to cut it out of baltic birch plywood 1/4" thick. The model is set to be 1/4" thick.
Screen-Shot-2015-07-04-at-12.58.37-PM.png
Screen-Shot-2015-07-04-at-12.58.37-PM.png (85.1 KiB) Viewed 1354 times

Brian Stone
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:52 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by Brian Stone » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:21 pm

Basically, the first step to any CAM operation in Fusion is to create a CAM Setup that defines the stock dimensions and relative position of the part to produce inside the stock. You can also define where the origin of the CAM operations should be in the Setup section.

The second step is to define the CAM toolpath operations and select the tools that you'll use to execute them. There are many toolpath operations to choose from. For the round grooves in your part, you'll probably want to choose a 3D Pocket Clearing operation. To cut the part out, select a 2D Contour operation, and set it up to cut multiple depths. The 2D Contour operation also lets you define parting tabs.

If you share your model, then I can show you how to do this. To share a model, just go to your AutoDesk Dashboard web page, find the model, and click "Share". You can also share a model in the Fusion 360 client by finding the model in the Project window, right-clicking it, and select "Share Public Link". Then copy and paste the URL that it gives you to this thread.

I'll also need to know what end mill you're going to use. I'd suggest a 1/4" or 1/8" Ball end-mill since you're cutting round grooves. And if the square groove's interior corners are supposed to be square, that's something I'd do as a manual post-op with a hand saw or chisel.
Shapeoko 2 #7353
1500x1000mm Shapeoko/X-Carve Hybrid, Nema-23's, Belt-Driven Z-Axis /w ACME Screw, Dewalt 611, Soundproof Enclosure
[Fusion 360 | Illustrator] -> Universal G-Code Sender

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by etxbkst » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:47 pm

Hi Brian!
Thank you so much for your reply and offer of assistance! Here is the file: http://a360.co/1RbEC85
I do have a 1/8" ball nose end mill. It's four flutes, and it has a cutting length of 1/2".

WillAdams
Posts: 8489
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15
Contact:

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by WillAdams » Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:59 pm

Also, from the wiki:
http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 43&p=41076 For a ShapeOko 3 using Carbide Motion Machine Controller “new CM V2 beta that works with Autodesk CAM. Use the Mach3 post, Uncheck "Use Radius" in the post processor” [http://www.shapeoko.com/forum/viewtopic ... 386#p50385 Re: Fusion 360 CAM help]
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/Makita RT0701 Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Elaire precision collets
Nomad 883 Pro #596 (bamboo)

Brian Stone
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:52 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by Brian Stone » Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:19 pm

The part is 6mm thick, but you want to cut it out of 0.25" (6.35mm) thick ply. Is that depth critical, or do you just want to cut it out of whatever thickness the material is? You could do a facing operation to take off the 0.35mm, but that would obviously take a long time with a ball end mill. Also, the plywood that I've been using is rarely exactly the advertised thickness. Some Baltic Birch 0.25" ply that I have actually measures 0.2257" (5.73mm) thick. So, make sure you can actually get 6mm out of yours (again, if the depth is critical).
Shapeoko 2 #7353
1500x1000mm Shapeoko/X-Carve Hybrid, Nema-23's, Belt-Driven Z-Axis /w ACME Screw, Dewalt 611, Soundproof Enclosure
[Fusion 360 | Illustrator] -> Universal G-Code Sender

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by etxbkst » Sat Jul 04, 2015 7:56 pm

Brian Stone wrote:The part is 6mm thick, but you want to cut it out of 0.25" (6.35mm) thick ply. Is that depth critical, or do you just want to cut it out of whatever thickness the material is? You could do a facing operation to take off the 0.35mm, but that would obviously take a long time with a ball end mill. Also, the plywood that I've been using is rarely exactly the advertised thickness. Some Baltic Birch 0.25" ply that I have actually measures 0.2257" (5.73mm) thick. So, make sure you can actually get 6mm out of yours (again, if the depth is critical).
Depth isn't critical. I just measured my stock and it's actually 6.2mm. I just want to cut the thickness my material is.

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by etxbkst » Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:03 pm

I also discovered that my Z axis wasn't up in the model I linked to above. Apparently changing that in preferences doesn't alter existing models.

Brian Stone
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:52 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by Brian Stone » Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:06 pm

Easiest way to explain the setup and toolpath creation I think will be to do a screencast. Give me about an hour, I'll have that uploaded for ya.
Shapeoko 2 #7353
1500x1000mm Shapeoko/X-Carve Hybrid, Nema-23's, Belt-Driven Z-Axis /w ACME Screw, Dewalt 611, Soundproof Enclosure
[Fusion 360 | Illustrator] -> Universal G-Code Sender

Brian Stone
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:52 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by Brian Stone » Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:17 pm

Here's the screencast. It took a long time to process and upload. As powerful as the "Cloud" is, it's friggn' slow sometimes.

I made a number of mistakes, hopefully they'll be obvious enough to ignore. I was interrupted a couple times and was sort of winging the whole thing, so please forgive those. At some point in the future I'd like to make a series of these screencasts for the wiki, but a little more professionally done and scripted for brevity and conciseness. I'm not the best impromptu speaker in the world.

Anyway, I hope you get what you needed out of this. As always, throw me any questions you have. Always happy to help. :)

http://autode.sk/1IXFhAj
Shapeoko 2 #7353
1500x1000mm Shapeoko/X-Carve Hybrid, Nema-23's, Belt-Driven Z-Axis /w ACME Screw, Dewalt 611, Soundproof Enclosure
[Fusion 360 | Illustrator] -> Universal G-Code Sender

etxbkst
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:54 am

Re: Fusion 360 CAM help

Post by etxbkst » Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:13 pm

Brian Stone wrote:Here's the screencast. It took a long time to process and upload. As powerful as the "Cloud" is, it's friggn' slow sometimes.

I made a number of mistakes, hopefully they'll be obvious enough to ignore. I was interrupted a couple times and was sort of winging the whole thing, so please forgive those. At some point in the future I'd like to make a series of these screencasts for the wiki, but a little more professionally done and scripted for brevity and conciseness. I'm not the best impromptu speaker in the world.

Anyway, I hope you get what you needed out of this. As always, throw me any questions you have. Always happy to help. :)

http://autode.sk/1IXFhAj
Thank you! This is fantastic! I followed along and now I'm post processing and getting ready to mill!

Post Reply