Carbide Create - First Use

brettjones

Carbide Create - First Use

Post by brettjones » Tue Oct 13, 2015 3:23 am

I just got my Shapeoko 3 running on Saturday and for my first "Hello World" test I decided to make a sign for my son's door. I had a piece of 3/4" plywood sitting around. I opened up Carbide Create and within 5 minutes and I had the piece set up, the tool selected, the sign created and the GCode exported. 20 minutes later I had my first part cut on my CNC. I have a lot of experience with 3D printers and 95% of my CAD was in Google's Sketchup, but this was the first thing I created for CNC. It worked perfectly. Carbide Create was really easy to use.

I'm now working on my next project: a tablet holder. There are 4 pieces to it and I've found it's really easy to design in Carbide Create. I'll post results over the weekend of how that turns out. For now I've attached a picture of the sign I made for my son.
Dallas.jpg
Dallas.jpg (385.88 KiB) Viewed 1954 times

ejlatstl

Re: Carbide Create - First Use

Post by ejlatstl » Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:00 pm

brettjones wrote:I just got my Shapeoko 3 running on Saturday and for my first "Hello World" test I decided to make a sign for my son's door. I had a piece of 3/4" plywood sitting around. I opened up Carbide Create and within 5 minutes and I had the piece set up, the tool selected, the sign created and the GCode exported. 20 minutes later I had my first part cut on my CNC. I have a lot of experience with 3D printers and 95% of my CAD was in Google's Sketchup, but this was the first thing I created for CNC. It worked perfectly. Carbide Create was really easy to use.

I'm now working on my next project: a tablet holder. There are 4 pieces to it and I've found it's really easy to design in Carbide Create. I'll post results over the weekend of how that turns out. For now I've attached a picture of the sign I made for my son.
Dallas.jpg