Beginners guide to setting up bCNC (+ autoleveling)

ALuomala

Beginners guide to setting up bCNC (+ autoleveling)

Post by ALuomala » Fri Oct 16, 2015 9:19 pm

Intro

I am writing this tutorial since I had a hard time getting bCNC up and running, and figured that it might help anybody who is sitting on the fence (about whether or not they should try it out).

Some background: I have been using my SO2 for the last 12 months or so, and I've become somewhat proficient at carving basic items (mostly signs, plaques, etc) out of "standard" wood (3/4" boards, mostly old kitchen cabinet doors that I have found at the local Habitat For Humanity Restore locations... great value, and sometimes the finish they have is nearly perfect (factory seconds or display models from stores, etc). Anyway, the wood is usually quite flat/level, and I have my machine set up to be fairly accurate (used wide flat bottomed bit to mill out a flat work around on my spoilboard), BUT sometimes the wood has a slight warp in it, and I want to preserve the nice finish that is already on the wood (I used the standard method of milling off a few mm's here or there on rough cut lumber to get a flat working area) . As well, I was also looking at future projects that would involve carving into uneven surfaces (guitars, rough lumber, etc).