Pocketing around raised letters and numbers

drummer412

Pocketing around raised letters and numbers

Post by drummer412 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:29 pm

I'm sure for most people this is a relatively simple process, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to pocket out an area that surrounds numbers or letters that are raised out of the pocketed area.
address.jpg
address.jpg (6.7 KiB) Viewed 2851 times
I am trying to make some simple address signs like the one pictured, but I can't get the simulation on Carbide Create or Easel to do this without pocketing out the entire shape, including the numbers. As you can tell, I am VERY new to this, and any help offered by you guys would be appreciated beyond words. FYI, I'm still learning the technical terms, so bear with me if I have no clue what you're talking about at first. I sound incompetent, but I can figure this out with the right guidance. Thanks again!

HPGreyling

Re: Pocketing around raised letters and numbers

Post by HPGreyling » Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:44 pm

I use Maker cam. Here I simply select the letters AND the outer border of the piece of work. Then I select pocket and the rest is the same.in apps

WillAdams
Location: Pennsylvania --- south of the Turnpike, East of US-15

Post by WillAdams » Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:45 pm

Your terminology is fine. That's actually a part of the engraving tutorial which I've been working on --- I'll post that now as an excerpt. Hang on!

Initial beginning to this here: http://community.carbide3d.com/t/help-w ... gn/3480/18 --- I'm going to be working on it on the wiki, and here at the same time. Please read through that discussion for a bit of background if desired, so as to give me a bit of time to get going.

Also, there is a video tutorial on this: http://carbide3d.com/carbidecreate/video/vcarving/ listed at: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/ ... _tutorials
Shapeoko 3XL #0006 w/ Carbide Compact Router w/0.125″ and ¼″ Carbide 3D precision collets

drummer412